We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“always great service and food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Gabbiano Ristorante

Il Gabbiano Ristorante
Ranked #27 of 766 Restaurants in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $27
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Walkerville
Tecumseh, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“always great service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

great food, normally order pasta but ordered the filet, equally as good a steak as the keg or any steak and seafood restaurants. Husband had the spicy mussels, were some of the best he's had. Very enjoyable evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    22
    9
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Move over, San Francisco!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We were visiting from the San Francisco Bay area, and headed over to lunch on Erie Street
and popped into Il Gabbiano. We chose the three-course special, and wow, was it ever! We were served by the charming Juan Franco, and enjoyed delicious plates that were artistic as they were scrumptious, almost too beautiful to eat: red pepper soup, caprese salad, fresh greens with shrimp, eggplant panini, linguini - need we say more, it was a true feast! Everything was fresh, beautifully presented, and mouth-watering. And even better, served with grace. Not an ounce of pretention! The restaurant owner, Joe, came to our table and greeted us with genuine hospitality. The whole experience was topped off with the best creme brulee and panna cotta in the world. Want a real taste of Italy? Head on over to Il Gabbiano for a real treat!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“10/10”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I went to Il Gabbiano for lunch last week and my experience was fantastic. Sitting on the well decorated patio, it was clear the care the owner, Joe Fallea, takes in his restaurant. He even approached us himself to check on how we were. The options were endless on the menu and our meals were absolutely delicious. To top it off, the service was impeccable. Despite the many other customers, the wait was not long at all and our server was very personable and kind.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cirovskc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
476 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Great service and good Italian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We had a really nice dinner here on a very warm summer night. Our waiter was really good and very friendly and personable. He added a few extra touches to the meal and helped make our dinner out quite memorable.

The wine list is varied with a good range of prices. Nice choices there. The menu also has some interesting selections as well. Both of us ordered meals we don't order normally and they were very good. Try the smoked trout pasta - very flavorful with super generous portion size.

The restaurant was quiet on a Tuesday night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BHartMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Date night turned into a trip through the tunnel to Windsor's Little Italy. With no knowledge of the various restaurants we chose the one with the best curb appeal and were extremely pleased with our choice of Il Gabbiano! Great service, great atmosphere and excellent meals: linguine con pesto was delicious and had 8 jumbo shrimp; veal with mushrooms, roasted potatoes and fresh vegetables was also excellent. Can't wait to go back and bring some friends!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gretchen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Gabbiano Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Il Gabbiano Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing