We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing ambiance”
Review of Gourmet Emporium

Gourmet Emporium
Ranked #470 of 778 Restaurants in Windsor
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Walkerville
Description: Apparently has been open for 3 years. Only found this restaurant this month. Serves tapas or a 7 course tasting menu.
White Lake, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing ambiance”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We enjoyed the ambiance at Ristorante Avanti. Our meals were prepared fresh by the owners who are extremely friendly with a professional staff.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tecumseh, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice lively environment, good tapas style food”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

My wife and I visited this restaurant for the 2nd time recently, the first time being over a year ago. We really like the environment being in a heritage listed ex bank. They have really done a nice job of converting it into a lively and open concept 2 level restaurant / bar. The main floor is centred around the bar with live entertainment while the upstairs balcony overlooking the main floor is where most of the dining tables are located.
We liked the food and the menu this time around better than our first experience. The first time we walked out still hungry, although the food was tasty, as the portions were really quite small. After spending 25-30% more than we bargained for and still hungry, we were not that impressed.
However, this 2nd time we found the food to be just as tasty, maybe even better, but the portions were definitely larger. We both ordered their 7 course set menu which provided a good variety of different dishes and flavours. My wife found it a tad spicy but I loved it. The main course in that menu was really the highlight - a very tender and moist spiced chicken breast served over a bed of pasta with a light creamy sauce. Very nice indeed and the portion size was very generous.
We will definitely visit again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank canaussie95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
“fun”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

great food , wonderful atmosphere historic bank building, food always fresh, friendliest staff in town.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fabulous atmosphere, great live entertainment, & super apps!!”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Our first time at Gourmet Emporium will certainly not be our last! What a cool atmosphere! It looks much smaller than it is. We opted to sit upstairs, to get a bird's eye view of the bar, and live entertainment below. Dimly lit with a fun, artsy deco, it was a perfect date night! The only problem was that the live music was a bit on the loud side, so we ended up leaving, so we could talk elsewhere. The entertainment was amazing, don't get me wrong, but we wanted to talk, so we appreciated it for a while, then left. The wait staff was friendly, informative and patient. We asked many questions about the sizes of the platters, etc. Since we split many of the platters, I would say that this is more of a tapas place; don't go there to get stuffed and have a full out meal. However, they DO have a cool 7 course selection at a set price which gives you plenty of choices! It would be great to go and try out a bunch of different foods, with some wine, or to share many apps with friends! Apparently they have live entertainment on both Thursdays and Saturdays. We liked everything we ordered and the wine list was pretty good, too. They have everything on the menu from tuna, to samosas, to beef tips and dessert! Yum! I am not sure about the cleanliness of the restrooms, as I did not use the facilities. This would also be a super place to grab a few drinks and listen to some great live music! Centered in the heart of Old Walkerville, this place definitely has class!!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M_K_R_7_7_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
“Great Night Out”
Reviewed November 27, 2011

I attended our company's holiday party this weekend at the Gourmet Emporium. It was fun! The food was excellent, the atmosphere unbeatable. Then, after dinner we danced to Latin music, it was a lot of fun, the entire group had a blast.

I will definately be back.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gourmet Emporium also viewed

 

Been to Gourmet Emporium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing