We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well priced, well situated, good sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Windsor
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well priced, well situated, good sleep”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Clean room, ok bed (not luxurious, but 4 pillows on a king), quite on the 8th floor, free wired internet (no wireless!), clean shower, friendly staff, simple breakfast but don't need more. One block away from the casino and right along the river. $72/night - really can't complain when Caesars next door starts at over $200/night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannesWei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    92
    118
    56
    71
See reviews for
93
117
37
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I could go on for hours about how many things went wrong with my stay at the Travelodge Windsor. Don't trust anything on the website. It says they don't charge you for the room until checkout, but I was charged days before I even checked IN. The website says there is free internet access, but the only internet was a computer at the front desk that they wanted to charge me $20 to use for 20 minutes. They actually advised me to walk down the street and stand outside a bank to pick up their wifi. The man at the front desk was SO rude and hostile. Parking lot was inadequate and they charged $10 per car for parking, but when I tried to pay for that with American cash he bumped it up to $12 per car, just based on his discretion. The ice machine didn't have ice in it so guests were going outside for snow. The man was so hostile that he threatened to evict us if we attempted to bring guests up to the room, even though we never planned on that. They charged my debit card a $100 damage deposit but did not tell me and then when I realized it and inquired about it, they said it would be refunded about a week after checkout. My room key stopped working at about midnight, so I couldn't get back into my room when returning home. The breakfast was awful. They tried to charge me again for parking while I was checking out because he forgot that I paid for it via cash when checking in. I don't normally post reviews of places online, but I went out of my way to do this to warn people of the horrors of the Travelodge in Downtown Windsor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Windsor hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stay was enjoyable. Front staff was friendly. The temperature of the pool was perfect. Nice and warm for a great swim. Most of the equipment in the exercise area was broken, which was to bad. Ended up exercising in the room. Wished the tread mill was working. The view from the room was spectacular. If you end up staying there make sure you get the higher up floors. Very glad that pets can stay there for free. That is great. The continental breakfast could be a little fresher in selection of muffins. Although, just having the option there for bagels, toast, was grand. The window opens a bit. Which is a plus as it can get stuffy with the type of air heating/cooling system they have. The price for the room is reasonable. I would recommend this hotel if you want clean and simple. They do have Wi Fi which is free. All the best for everyone!

Room Tip: Stay in the higher levels with the Detroit River View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FaithCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Other than the bright super helpful and informative front desk clerk Donna and our river views this hotel was not worth the $129 for one night!! The rooms had a funny smell, the halls were banged up, our door took some major coaxing to lock the deadbolt, the beds and mattresses have to be approx 15 years old and super low to the ground... I dealt with it for the night but won't be coming back again...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshMcM79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

You are in a great location. The rooms have microwaves, fridges, tub mats and safety bars.
It is Spartan for sure. But this place, with all the events in Windsor is ideal, especially with the indoor pool for kids and adults! They do all they can, in an aging building to make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here once. Never again. The hotel needs improvements. The front staff were unfriendly and certainly appeared put out by questions. The hotel has inadequate parking.

The only positives are that it's dry and the heating worked.

I suspect given the over powering smells in the hall that this hotel caters to Detroit youth crossing the border to party on the Canadian side.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diehardlionfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Positives: pet friendly (no restrictions and free) and across from a nice walking area; decent free breakfast (bagels, muffins, cereal), comfy bed, quite, 5 minute walk to casino

Negatives: no free parking ($10 - outdoors), no wireless internet..called front desk and they said we should have a cord in our night table but it was missing, should not be pet friendly (rooms were compressed, no separate side entrances, stairs were concrete very steep and narrow, dogs very anxious at this property); buttons in elevators had rust/discolouration, rust in toilet bowl and shower head, cigarette burns in our floor (in a non-smoking room), clock radio super ghetto and was not the right time and we couldn't figure out how to set the time or alarm, plugs are loose and are a hazard.

Overall: this hotel needs a lot of updating, the lay out of the hotel is awkward and weird for getting outdoors to walk the dog...there is no pet fee or restrictions but they charge for parking. It is close to the casino but I would only stay at this hotel again if it was cheaper (e.g. 70$/night) compared to 110$...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiggsIvyLoraDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
Walkerville
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#7 of 35 in Windsor
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Windsor
#5 of 35 in Windsor
172 reviews
Caesars Windsor
#1 of 35 in Windsor
6,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor

Property: Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor
Address: 33 Riverside Dr E, Windsor, Ontario N9A 2S4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor 2*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Travelodge Windsor Hotel is located in the heart of Downtown Windsor overlooking the Detroit skyline in the Casino district. Our rooms feature high speed internet access, cable TV, iron/ironing boards, hair dryers and individually controlled heat and air conditioning units. Please note: Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor is currently undergoing renovations into August 2017. Guest entry will be off Pitt St at the back of the hotel starting May 1st 2017. Pool, fitness centre will be closed and meeting rooms will be unavailable during this time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Windsor
Windsor Travel Lodge
Windsor Travelodge
Travel Lodge Windsor
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing