We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and tired, with interesting guests.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Windsor
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Old and tired, with interesting guests.”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is quite an old hotel, with very worn interior. Beds were not that great. Seemed to be fairly clean, although we arrived very late and I was too tired to look deep. The room was around $100, so not a horrible price considering the location. We did have a fabulous view of the river and Detroit across the way.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roni-Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    86
    117
    56
    70
See reviews for
91
110
37
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Went there for the long weekend, in general, facility is pretty torn and old, you know right away after you step into the room and it's full of an old scent.

Parking is NOT free although it says free parking when we booked online, the parking can be use by the public as well and by the night we return, the parking lot is full and we have to pay $5 to park overnight at the parking lot beside it. We do get the $10 refund however but it's just a hassle.

Wi-fi never reach our room, it's accessible at the lobby but the signal is weak and we can never get on, I end up getting online with my phone's 3G connection.

Breakfast is free but I didn't bother with muffin and plain bread, we took the coffee however.

We were charged 20 bucks more for 2 extra persons in a 2 queens bed room, we don't even get enough bathroom supplies, what a joke.

DONT GO TO THIS "HOTEL", I would really call this a motel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Windsor hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2012

The view from our hotel room was wonderful we found the rooms to be cleaned and it was nice that the coffee pot works

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cgallina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We love to travel to Windsor to watch the fireworks show on the Detroit River. We take our folding chairs and sit at the water's edge for the outstanding show. We stayed at the Windsor Travelodge. The price was very reasonable and the location was perfect. Dieppe Park is across the street from the hotel and you can even watch the show from the river front rooms.
This is a basic hotel but the staff was friendly and efficient and we will go back next year

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pattybo313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at this Travelodge during 5/18/12-5/20/12 and we will never return. He booked the hotel so I had no idea where we were staying until we pulled into the parking lot. For starters, the Hotel lobby is out of date and could use some updating but the desk attendant was friendly. When we got to our room we noticed how badly stained the chairs, wallpaper, lamp and even one of our beds had a stain on the comforter. When we went to the front desk to ask for another comfortor we found out that that's where they keep all of their sheets (in a bin at the front desk) but they did not have another comfortor.
The next day we discovered that the bathroom sink leaked horribly and when room service came to "clean" our room clean she didn't give us fresh sheets. We had to get new room keys twice because for some reason ours stopped working.

Overall, this hotel was the absolute worst that I have ever been to. If you can, do yourself a favor and stay at a better hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AML619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London On
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

wonderful view ,lovely walk out on the river ,you would defintly love doing some exercise there, clean room and nice size bed , I just loved it..my mother as well.. friendly envirnement..keep the good work..

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Imam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We had booked at the Travelodge as part of a group attending a basketball tournament. We had been provided a nightly rate of $89.00/night which was the only good thing. We were originally advised that parking was included but upon check-in we were advised that it was a first come first serve parking lot. Since the hotel is located downtown the hotel actually uses the hotel parking lot as a public lot and anybody can purchase a parking pass. So I was not only competing against other hotel guests but anybody going to the casino, bars, etc in the area. I was however lucky and never had to pay for parking elsewhere, other people in my group however had to pay $5-10 extra when the lot was full. The person upon check-in was also not very pleasant to deal with did not want to answer even simple questions.
The hotel itself overlooks the river so some of the rooms had a nice river view. Our room however overlooked the city of Windsor and unfortunately for us it appeared to be the bar area of Windsor. We were on the second floor and the street noise was constant all night from bar patrons yelling and car tires screeching. The hotel room itself appeared to be slightly smaller than an average room. We referred to our beds as "taco beds" because the mattresses seemed to roll up. The room just had a plain dirty feel to it and I would have left and found another hotel if we weren't traveling with a group. The hotel noise seemed excessive. Doors slamming, kids screaming etc. the walls just appeared to not block any noise. We only stayed 2 nights and the second night as we were attempting to fall asleep the tub started to make a draining noise. When I checked this out it was water backing up into the tub from somewhere else. After the water drained for the second time I blocked the drain to avoid this from occurring any further.
Not a place I will return. May not be the worst hotel in Windsor but I would think that it would be on that list.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms would avoid some street noise and river front rooms afford a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cory55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
Walkerville
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#8 of 35 in Windsor
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Windsor
#5 of 35 in Windsor
171 reviews
Caesars Windsor
#1 of 35 in Windsor
6,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor

Property: Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor
Address: 33 Riverside Dr E, Windsor, Ontario N9A 2S4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor 2*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Travelodge Windsor Hotel is located in the heart of Downtown Windsor overlooking the Detroit skyline in the Casino district. Our rooms feature high speed internet access, cable TV, iron/ironing boards, hair dryers and individually controlled heat and air conditioning units. Please note: Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor is currently undergoing renovations into August 2017. Guest entry will be off Pitt St at the back of the hotel starting May 1st 2017. Pool, fitness centre will be closed and meeting rooms will be unavailable during this time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Windsor
Windsor Travel Lodge
Windsor Travelodge
Travel Lodge Windsor
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing