We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Windsor
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Better than I expected”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Overall pretty good hotel. I would have given 4-stars, if there was still a proper restaurant/pub in this location and forget the free breakfast. The Egg place across the street from the parking is fantastic though, so don't waste your time with empty juice dispenser, cold eggs, etc. The room was great though and I liked the salt water pool.

Room Tip: One of the top floors offer a great view of the Detroit skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RELM73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WATERFRONT HOTE... D, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Hello RELM73,
Thank you for your message, we appreciate the feedback. We are happy to know you enjoyed your room and the view of the Detroit Skyline. We are proud to say that we are the only hotel in Windsor & Detroit, where all 305 rooms have a waterfront view. The pool was recently converted to saltwater and it has been met with great reviews. Finally, we have future plans in place to renovate the main floor lobby and open a new lounge with a creative food & drink menu. When that opens, hopefully we will get those 4-stars from you! In the meantime, if you would like us to book your next stay, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.
Yours in Hospitality,
Asad M., Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    323
    135
    61
    40
See reviews for
210
253
35
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This Hotel is average for the price and location. But what takes this Hotel to the next level is the hospitality we received at all levels. From the time we arrived everyone and I do mean everyone greeted us with smiles and kindness . When the staff spoke with you they were professional and expeditiously got you to your designated rooms. Even the room service personnel were always kind and considerate. If your fortunate to get a room with a view it's awesome.

Room Tip: Reserve on line and request a room with a view of the River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WATERFRONT HOTE... D, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hello Gregory J,


The Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor has read your review and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

Being a Manager, I must agree with you. We feel our staff truly are the most professional, hospitable and kind bunch second to none!

You'll be pleased to know a great feature about the hotel is all 305 rooms face the river, so no matter the guest, you'll always have a river view! How fantastic!

We value your opinion. It is our ultimate goal to make your stay with us more pleasurable and trouble free! It is because of you, our guest(s) that we strive to make our hotel, your home away from home.

Thank you again for choosing the Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor.


Yours in Hospitality,

Asad M. & the Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
580 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This hotel offers a very convenient location to all bars and restaurants in downtown Windsor. The price is very reasonable. Much cheaper to book online. Saved $50. Needs roomservice and valet parking. Beds are comfortable and waterfront view is great. Keg restaurant right next door.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arnold s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WATERFRONT HOTE... D, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Hello Arnold s,

The Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. We have read your review and are pleased you had a pleasant stay while you were our guest.

Situated right in the heart of downtown Windsor, there is no doubt location, comfort and the stunning view from our rooms are key factors which many of our guests enjoy about our hotel.

Although we no longer have certain amenities at the hotel, we try to meet and exceed the quality of the ones we do currently provide. Soon we will be starting room and lobby renovations as steps to better suit our guests' needs.

With 30+ bars/restaurants within walking distance, our hotels is sure to be the perfect place for all travelers no matter the reason for you visit!

We value your opinion. It is our ultimate goal to make your stay with us more pleasurable and stress free! It is because of you, our guest(s) that we strive to make our hotel, your home away from home.


Yours in Hospitality,

Asad M. & the Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here overnight because we were in town for a gymnastics meet. Checking in was fast but no room to leave your car while u are doing so. Parking is behind the hotel and is $12 bucks a day. Make sure to walk across the street outside after parking. The bridge led us into some sketchy empty building before finding the hotel lobby. The view was ok. We had an angled window so we had a partial view of the waterfront. Our room was near the elevator room 402 and you could hear the bell ring in our room each time someone was waiting for a lift. We did enjoy the pool/ sauna and workout room though and the breakfast was decent with a beautiful full view of the waterfront. I booked at hotels.com but I still think I paid too much at $129 a night. The holiday inn on Huron church was cheaper. I guess you are paying for the view at the waterfront. It's an average hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank momof3kidsToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WATERFRONT HOTE... D, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Hello momof3kidsToronto,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. We have read your review and would like to follow up with some helpful information to make your future stay with us more comfortable.

During your check in process, we welcome all of our guest to park their vehicle in the hotel’s laneway. It is also our loading and unloading area with bell carts available to make transferring your luggage to your room more convenient.

You are correct with regards to using the hotel’s back entrance located on the street level. Its is the most convenient and direct route back into the hotel. Also, your $12 pass will allow you unlimited access to the garage so the family can go and explore Windsor.

At anytime if you feel your room is not suitable, we encourage our guests to call our Guest Services Associates and we will always try our very best to accommodate you. With 305 rooms which all face the river, there is sure to be a room right for you!

We understand value is key to all travelers. To add value to our guests’ experience we offer Free Local Calls, Free Wi-Fi and Complimentary Free Breakfast. We are also located in the heart of downtown Windsor, with many local attractions within walking distance.

We thank you again for your review and we value your opinion. It is our ultimate goal to make your stay with us pleasurable and trouble free! It is because of you, our guest, that we strive to make our hotel your home away from home.

Yours in Hospitality,

Asad M. & the Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylmer, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I have enjoyed each and every stay at the Waterfront and have been there for 3 weekends now. The rooms are comfortable, the staff more than accomodating and friendly and the breakfast excellent. They even changed the breakfast time to allow for swimmers to get fed earlier due to an earlier start of the swim meet. I will be back next month. ThaCarolnks so much

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WATERFRONT HOTE... D, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Hello Carol,

The Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. We have read your review and are pleased you enjoyed each and every one of your stays at our hotel.

With regards to our 'comfortable' rooms, you will be happy to know the hotel will be renovating 140 guest rooms which will compliment the 165 rooms already renovated! In addition to the room renovations, we are also excited to announce the hotel lobby will be included as part of our renovation process to better suit our guests!

Since the opening of the Family Aquatic Complex we have had quite the amount of families stay with us whether it be for leisure at the Adventure Bay Waterpark or attending a swim meet competition at the Windsor International Aquatics and Training Centre. Although it is not a hotel standard to start the breakfast early, we understand the needs of our guests and try our hardest to accommodate everyone to the best of our ability.

We value your opinion. It is our ultimate goal to make your stay with us more pleasurable and trouble free! We would like to take this time to see what we can do in the future to make this statement true. It is because of you, our guest(s) that we strive for excellent customer service and to make our hotel, your home away from home.

Yours in Hospitality,

Asad M. & The Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Have come here a few times since august 2013 when it was Hilton. However first time since the management change.

While booking it was full waterfront view. When i got the form to sign it said it said partial view. Got it changed and went to the room to find that it was a corner room and very small. Got it changed to come to another room where you could see the outside wall of the hotel from my room.

I had been extremely happy with the room and view in the past.

To top it up the way the front office staff treat you is pathetic.

Make sure you see the room before signing the docs.

Not what it used to

Caesars in the future

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mani C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WATERFRONT HOTE... D, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hello Ambacndi,

The Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

Our goal is to always meet and exceed our guests expectations which was not the case with your stay.

We sincerely apologize for your experience and we would like the opportunity to touch base with you to remedy.

Your feedback is valuable and we will use it as a coaching tool for our Guest Services team

We are looking forward to hearing from you. You can contact us directly at 519.973.4261


Yours in Hospitality,

Asad M.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We held a Conference for 70 people and it was very successful. The Hotel has such a beautiful view from both the Hotel rooms and the conference room. Lots of nice restaurants to walk to. The catering for the event was done by the St Clair Centre. They work very closely with the Hotel and made our Conference Perfect.
Thanks

Room Tip: Waterfront View for sure!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WATERFRONT HOTE... D, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Hello Julie B,


The Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. We have read your review and are pleased you had such a pleasant experience in the guest rooms as well as our conference space. We are thrilled our hotel was a part of making your conference a success!

I remembered assisting you at the front desk in ordering a taxi. I recall you mentioning you were heading to the 'Twisted Apron' one evening for dinner. I hope you enjoyed yourself as this particular restaurant is a local favourite. The next time you are in town and we have the pleasure of serving you once again, please let us know so we can recommend more fantastic restaurants just a quick walk or drive away!

We value your opinion. It is our ultimate goal to make your stay with us more pleasurable and trouble free! Please let us know if there are any points we can improve on to make our hotel better suited for future stays.

It is because of you, our guest that we strive to make our hotel, your home away from home.

If you require my assistance in the future for questions, reservations or any other reasons, please feel free to contact me at any time. It would be my pleasure to help!

Yours in Hospitality,

Asad Mohammad & The Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
Caesars Windsor
#1 of 35 in Windsor
6,827 reviews
City Centre
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Walkerville
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#8 of 35 in Windsor
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Waterfront Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Waterfront Hotel
Address: 277 Riverside Dr W, Windsor, Ontario N9A 5K4, Canada (Formerly Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Waterfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterfront Hotel is ideally located along the beautiful river front in downtown Windsor, Ontario, Canada, directly across from Detroit, Michigan USA, All hotel guest rooms feature a lovely river view and overlook gardens, sculptures and an extensive multi-use fitness trail. In addition to the gorgeous waterfront view, also include complimentary free breakfast buffet, complimentary local phone calls and complimentary Wi-Fi accessEasily accessed via the Ambassador Bridge, Detroit Windsor tunnel, Highway 401 and Highway 3.Nearby attractions and events include: GM Corporate world Headquarters, Ford World Headquarters, Chrysler Group US Headquarters, Caesars Windsor, Downtown Windsor Bars, Clubs, Restaurants and Entertainment, Art Gallery of Windsor, Steps from Detroit Windsor Tunnel Bus, YQG Windsor International Airport, DTW Metropolitan Detroit Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Best Western, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Windsor Hotel Windsor
Hilton Hotel Windsor
Windsor Hilton Hotel
Best Western Plus Waterfront Hotel Windsor, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing