We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Windsor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Windsor
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Hilton Windsor”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The view from this hotel is stunning. The aqua river, the peach sky, the freighters, the sun rises and sunsets, the Detroit Skyline. The service is very good. The pool could be cleaner. The gym overlooks the river. I love staying here; they will make price concessions if you're staying awhile and ask them to.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    291
    123
    58
    38
See reviews for
187
226
31
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoover
Level Contributor
169 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Rooms were clean--pool and workout area well kept and seemed very clean--service help and friendliness was exceptional IN HOTEL--parking was aggravating as they moved my car around and the person wanting to park my car for no good reason(nobody behind or in front) banged on my window when I was talking on my cell to a customer TWICE!-Thus the 4 rather than 5 star rating---Yes there are nicer hotels but this is a very good clean place to stay--very close to Casino if you gamble--pretty view--had 3 day stay

Room Tip: All pretty good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodmarc15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The hotel is showing the signs of age. We were in room 811 and enjoyed the waterfront view, which was very nice at night. In the morning we had to wait a very long time for an elevator as only 1 of 3 were working at the time. We stayed at this hotel because of the convenient location (attended a wedding at the centre for the arts next door, which is interconnected). The casino hotel is nicer for the same or lower price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirke99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I usually feel uncomfortable in hotels, but my husband and I so greatly enjoyed our stay that we didn't want to leave! The room was clean, smelled fresh, and had all the amenities we needed to be comfortable. The view of the Detroit river was spectacular, the king bed was very comfortable and you can't go wrong with free wi-fi access. If you're looking to just get away and relax for a night or two, I highly recommend the Hilton Windsor. We'll be going back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I've stayed at the Hilton Windsor twice and love the hotel, to the extent that I rearranged some travel plans specifically because I wanted to spend one night at this hotel before moving to a hotel in Detroit for the rest of my stay. The reviews on this page seem mixed, and part of that may be based on whether you splurge for the room with a panoramic view.

The rooms with east/west view apparently tend to be smaller, whereas the panoramic rooms are at the front of the hotel, are decently sized, and have a PHENOMENAL wraparound view of the Detroit skyline and the Detroit River. I may be a nerd, but I can spend hours watching the barges float down the river and the skyscraper lights change colors, and looking for the People Mover to speed across its elevated track on the opposite shore. From the king room, I could sit in the easy chair and feel like i was on the edge of the river shore, or sit at the desk and daydream about the view, or from bed I could look up at the skyscrapers. That alone made me book again.

Ironically, my second trip I got upgraded to a king suite, which was a nice bonus with a ton of extra space, except that the orientation of the room furniture makes it more difficult to check out the spectacular views. The bed is further from the window, so it's more like you're looking out a window at a city, rather than being so close you feel like you're part of it. I specifically booked here hoping to sit at the desk and stare out the window while doing some brainstorming work, but in the suite the desk faces the wall away from the window. Similarly, the furniture had an awkward setup. The TV was pointed toward the desk, and it was difficult or impossible to view from the couch, easy chair, or bed unless you shifted a few things around. Minor complaint but for a couple or small family, this could be problematic. If you're not planning to watch much TV, the extra space is a great bonus. Possibly twice the size of the regular king room - big enough to host a coffee klatch, yoga class, and bed-in all at once.

The pool/exercise room also has a great view, which is good enough inspiration to fit in a workout while you're here. Decent mix of cardio, weights, and other equipment (Bosu ball, yoga mat, med balls).

The location is also convenient to several restaurants and downtown shopping, close to the tunnel and bridge to the US, and across the street from the riverfront park for a stroll or jog. The municipal parking garage behind the hotel is a little sketchy but close and reasonably priced, and shared by several neighboring hotels; there is also a valet option available.

As some commenters have mentioned, some of the decor might not be cutting age but for the most part it looked classy and clean, with updates to all the important features (comfy bed and pillows, nice desk, new TVs, etc.) Frankly I wouldn't have noticed if I hadn't read the reviews here. The only areas that looked dated to me were a few details in the hallways and elevator exteriors - kudos to the hotel for focusing on enhancing the rooms first rather than the exterior details that don't matter as much. Unlike most Hiltons, this hotel provides complimentary wireless internet. The desk chair was good for long-haul work - firm and comfortable, but perhaps misleading to people who equate ergonomics with cushy padding.

I will definitely stay at this hotel again. In fact I am eagerly looking for another reason to book a trip here, as long as I can get a room with a panoramic view.

Room Tip: Panoramic rooms have more space and a phenomenal view - well worth the price premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanda_Wh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My company books the Windsor Hilton every year for a conference and this was the last year for that. The quality of the hotel, food and the maintenance have gone down tremendously. The elevators were in disrepair as was the rest of the building. The rooms were good but the rest was not up to normal Hilton standards. It's unfortunate because I love my water front view.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Adrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Over all the hotel is ok and is very well located, but it appears to be on it's last legs. The staff are very good but the hotel itself is old and starting to show its age. I would stay again but its just average and a hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Drew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
Caesars Windsor
#1 of 35 in Windsor
6,232 reviews
Walkerville
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#8 of 35 in Windsor
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Windsor
#5 of 35 in Windsor
171 reviews
City Centre
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Waterfront Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Waterfront Hotel
Address: 277 Riverside Dr W, Windsor, Ontario N9A 5K4, Canada (Formerly Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Waterfront Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterfront Hotel is ideally located along the beautiful river front in downtown Windsor, Ontario, Canada, directly across from Detroit, Michigan USA, All hotel guest rooms feature a lovely river view and overlook gardens, sculptures and an extensive multi-use fitness trail. In addition to the gorgeous waterfront view, also include complimentary free breakfast buffet, complimentary local phone calls and complimentary Wi-Fi accessEasily accessed via the Ambassador Bridge, Detroit Windsor tunnel, Highway 401 and Highway 3.Nearby attractions and events include: GM Corporate world Headquarters, Ford World Headquarters, Chrysler Group US Headquarters, Caesars Windsor, Downtown Windsor Bars, Clubs, Restaurants and Entertainment, Art Gallery of Windsor, Steps from Detroit Windsor Tunnel Bus, YQG Windsor International Airport, DTW Metropolitan Detroit Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Windsor Hotel Windsor
Hilton Hotel Windsor
Windsor Hilton Hotel
Best Western Plus Waterfront Hotel Windsor, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing