We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Stay at Hilton Windsor a bit of a Let Down.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Windsor
Orillia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stay at Hilton Windsor a bit of a Let Down.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The bed was not very comfortable and the toilet did not function very well (had to jiggle handle after each flush). Items that were requested prior to our arrival were not there when we arrived. There were no cups or creamers with our coffee maker. The furniture is very old and in extremely poor condition. On a positive note, the valet driver on the evening shift was very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    205
    96
    44
    23
See reviews for
131
164
22
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were quoted an out the door price that included parking for our wedding stay. At check-in the front desk attendant repeatedly called me a liar by saying that "no, you weren't told that". Still argued this to no avail at check-out when I was charged. As well, they tried to nickle and dime us for everything. I called down to get some cups/glasses for a celbratory toast with my bridesmaids when I was told that there would be a $10 charge. After arguing this she gave in and said that if the glasses were returned the $10 charge would be reversed. Just a very frustrating, argumentative experience with the front desk at every turn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

a great place to stay a good view easy to get to need to provide queen size beds a idea place to stay for weddings or conferences at the St Clair Centre on the water glorious park in front of hotel - great for a walk

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
233 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We got one of the special 'view' rooms, and indeed, the view is special. It's funny: I remember in 2005 staying in Detroit, looking out the Ren Center windows at Windsor. Eight years later, it's the reverse.

It really was a lovely view. Unfortunately, at 2:15, I didn't care much about the view when our next-door neighbours had a loud party and we had to call security. And then I really didn't like that they were still noisy after that.

Nonetheless, they did comp our breakfast and our parking. So I suppose I'm mollified.

Parking at this hotel is silly: it's in a municipal parking lot "behind" the hotel. But getting to it is a pain due to one-way streets. A sign on the hotel entrance that parking is "behind" really didn't help.

Room Tip: The view room really did have a lovely view of the Detroit River and the buildings on the other side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melted_snowball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed there for my son's wedding the middle of September. The hotel was linked to the venue which was very helpful. The hotel experience was excellent - clean rooms, comfortable beds, bar fridge for the room, excellent house keeping attendants. The front lobby hotel staff were professional, polite and friendly

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank AlexandraOakville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, NY
Level Contributor
185 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Windsor when attending an event in the Detroit area. We were able to get a discount on a room in Windsor for far less than anything in the Detroit.

We had passed the hotel when we first arrived, the entrance is a bit small and sandwiched between other buildings. Check in went rather well, and we were told about the parking ramp behind the hotel for self parking. I don't recall the cost of parking, but it wasn't horrible for a city hotel.

The first time we had parked, we used the second (third?) floor tunnel to an abandoned office/mall that connected to the Hilton. It is kinda creepy, everything is closed and there is the distinct smell of pee. We figured out that there is another entrance right through the valet lot, so on future trips back from the parking ramp, we just took the elevator to the ground floor, crossed the street and entered the hotel that way.

The rooms are nice, though a little dated. We had a room overlooking the river which was nice. The bathroom was clean, and shower pressure was nice. There was a decent TV with plenty of channels and a nice in-room fridge. Unlike many other Hiltons I had stayed at, this location had free internet.

The location of the hotel is nice, we were a couple blocks from the Caesar Casino and had plenty of eating options available. Access to the tunnel to the US us super easy from the hotel as well, less than 5 minutes.

They have a pool, restaurant and bar. We did not partake of any. There was a large wedding on the main day we had stayed and it was busy in that part of the hotel.

We would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dak1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrolia, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We liked the riverside location, within easy walk to restaurants, bars and casino. The room was bright and clean but there was no safe or refrigerator in the room, something we would have expected of a Hilton property. In the morning we checked out the Continental Breakfast and found it to be very sparse and unappetizing and certainly not good value.

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor with a river view, might want to go higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
Caesars Windsor
#1 of 35 in Windsor
4.5 of 5 stars 3,188 reviews
Comfort Inn Windsor
#5 of 35 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterfront Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterfront Hotel
Address: 277 Riverside Dr W, Windsor, Ontario N9A 5K4, Canada (Formerly Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterfront Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterfront Hotel is ideally located along the beautiful river front in downtown Windsor, Ontario, Canada, directly across from Detroit, Michigan USA, All hotel guest rooms feature a lovely river view and overlook gardens, sculptures and an extensive multi-use fitness trail. In addition to the gorgeous waterfront view, also include complimentary free breakfast buffet, complimentary local phone calls and complimentary Wi-Fi accessEasily accessed via the Ambassador Bridge, Detroit Windsor tunnel, Highway 401 and Highway 3.Nearby attractions and events include: GM Corporate world Headquarters, Ford World Headquarters, Chrysler Group US Headquarters, Caesars Windsor, Downtown Windsor Bars, Clubs, Restaurants and Entertainment, Art Gallery of Windsor, Steps from Detroit Windsor Tunnel Bus, YQG Windsor International Airport, DTW Metropolitan Detroit Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Windsor Hotel Windsor
Hilton Hotel Windsor
Windsor Hilton Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterfront Hotel Windsor, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing