We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Close to tunnel which made it great for the Red Wings Game”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites Downtown
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Windsor
Waterloo, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very Close to tunnel which made it great for the Red Wings Game”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I really wanted to stay in Detroit as I was going to see a Red Wings Game but the cost of the Downtown Detroit Hotels was twice as much. I decided on Comfort Suite over the Quality Suites Downtown because of the reviews. I found this Hotel (at least the room I stayed in) to be a average hotel room. it was nice and big, it was clean, it had a fridge, TV, free parking, the bathroom was nice and it had a free breakfast (cereals, eggs, sausage, waffles, bread, muffins). This place was literally 2 minutes from the Detroit Windsor tunnel so that also made it super continent. I thought it was a little weird that it was in a "residential area" but it was still really close to downtown. I would stay here again if I was to go to another game.

Room Tip: Even though all the room as "non-smoking" there are some rooms with "non-smoking"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry_Edwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    45
    41
    7
    6
See reviews for
30
36
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The location of this hotel is very good if you are going to the restaurant/bar area of Windsor. But with that said the actual area is pretty run down and I did not feel too comfortable walking back to the hotel in the evening. The man that checked us in was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The rooms were ok but very outdated and in serious need of updating. I would stay again if I wanted to visit the area but for only one night at the most.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCFTAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The room was spacious with a separate living area. Very clean and well appointed. The bed was huge, high and comfy. The windows opened! Great nights sleep. It was quiet at night. Ice machine/pop/vending all on the mail floor. Has an elevator.

I have never stayed at this hotel before and actually used my reward points to get the room. I was expecting a very basic room, and was blown away by how elegant it was. The customer service persons at the counter were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights. We chose this hotel over others due to the price and other reviews on Tripadvisor. The hotel is around a 10-15 minute walk from the river. There is not a lot going on right by the hotel. However, as long as you are ok with walking a bit, you can get to the busier downtown area. The hotel itself is a bit dated. The lobby area is ok. The rooms are a little old. I was in a double queen room. The air conditioner did work. However, it would not let you adjust it at all. It stayed on 74... and it felt hotter than 74 in the room so we usually slept with the window wide open to keep air flowing. They did have waffles, bagels, cereal, etc. for breakfast. It was an ok stay for the price, but i'd probably pay a little extra for a nicer place if i'm back in Windsor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmjr81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stittsville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 522 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed for 2 days and it was a comfortable place to stay. Free parking and close to the casino.
Handy to downtown and the tunnel to go to Detroit.
Had a nice big suite with a king bed that was very comfortable.
All this and it did not break the budget.
The staff are always smiling and friendly. These little extras make it a worthwhile stop
Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbcc1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for work, hotel was very clean and has a great breakfast, lots of parking on site, very close to downtown , casino and lots of restaurants. Jason from front desk was amazing he made my stay even better by going out of his way and taking time to give me directions and options on where to eat and things to see and do.This is by far the best front desk person that i have encountered, thank you Jason for making my stay awesome .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Barry at the front desk was amazing. He even called around to 7 different restaurants for us looking for a particular beer I wanted. This isn't the most luxurious hotel, but for a stopover with a kid on a road trip it worked great.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank joshdouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
Caesars Windsor
#1 of 35 in Windsor
6,571 reviews
City Centre
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Windsor
#5 of 35 in Windsor
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Downtown

Property: Comfort Suites Downtown
Address: 500 Tuscarora St, Windsor, Ontario N9A 3M2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor > Walkerville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide a home away from home experience to all our guests. We are located in the heart of beautiful Downtown Windsor offering you fast access to all the local attractions. Casino Windsor, Dance Clubs, Detroit Tunnel, WFCU Arena, Windsor Spitfires, Tiger Games, NEW ADVENTURE BAY WATER PARK, Shopping District and many local restaurants and wineries. All of our rooms come with fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, local calling, FREE WIFI and Hot Breakfast. We offer Guest Appreciation Nights throughout the week. Pets are welcome at a cost of $25.00 per pet/per stay. $5.00 per pet is donated to the Windsor Humane Society. Cash and Debit payments will require a $250.00 Deposit and Photo Identification. Hotel is Smoke Free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Downtown Hotel Windsor
Comfort Suites Windsor
Windsor Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Downtown Windsor, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing