We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“An excellent experience, clean, modern, stylish, good customer service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Suites Downtown
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“An excellent experience, clean, modern, stylish, good customer service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The room was spacious with a separate living area. Very clean and well appointed. The bed was huge, high and comfy. The windows opened! Great nights sleep. It was quiet at night. Ice machine/pop/vending all on the mail floor. Has an elevator.

I have never stayed at this hotel before and actually used my reward points to get the room. I was expecting a very basic room, and was blown away by how elegant it was. The customer service persons at the counter were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    39
    37
    7
    6
See reviews for
28
29
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights. We chose this hotel over others due to the price and other reviews on Tripadvisor. The hotel is around a 10-15 minute walk from the river. There is not a lot going on right by the hotel. However, as long as you are ok with walking a bit, you can get to the busier downtown area. The hotel itself is a bit dated. The lobby area is ok. The rooms are a little old. I was in a double queen room. The air conditioner did work. However, it would not let you adjust it at all. It stayed on 74... and it felt hotter than 74 in the room so we usually slept with the window wide open to keep air flowing. They did have waffles, bagels, cereal, etc. for breakfast. It was an ok stay for the price, but i'd probably pay a little extra for a nicer place if i'm back in Windsor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmjr81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stittsville, Canada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 499 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed for 2 days and it was a comfortable place to stay. Free parking and close to the casino.
Handy to downtown and the tunnel to go to Detroit.
Had a nice big suite with a king bed that was very comfortable.
All this and it did not break the budget.
The staff are always smiling and friendly. These little extras make it a worthwhile stop
Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbcc1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for work, hotel was very clean and has a great breakfast, lots of parking on site, very close to downtown , casino and lots of restaurants. Jason from front desk was amazing he made my stay even better by going out of his way and taking time to give me directions and options on where to eat and things to see and do.This is by far the best front desk person that i have encountered, thank you Jason for making my stay awesome .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Barry at the front desk was amazing. He even called around to 7 different restaurants for us looking for a particular beer I wanted. This isn't the most luxurious hotel, but for a stopover with a kid on a road trip it worked great.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank joshdouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed one week at the Comfort Suites Downtown.

The staff were cordial, the common areas were clean.

The room itself is dated and in need of sprucing up. The carpet was worn, the headboard had a piece falling off it. The taps leaked in the tub. The shower door leaked and got water all over the floor. I grew up in Windsor and the area this motel is in has never been considered upscale by any stretch of the imagination. Some would go so far as to call the area "seedy" However, I knew that going in so please do not consider that a complaint.

I suppose the biggest disappointment would have been the flies that came out of the drain in the shower nightly. I killed roughly 6-10 every morning. I had to throw out our toothbrushes because of the flies. Its sort of unsettling.

The maintenance fellow took a look and discovered the drain had become disconnected and he tried to clean up the area he could reach under the shower but after all the effort it didn't solve the fly problem.

There was a conference in town and rooms were very scarce in Windsor so we just had to grin and bear it.

Even so at 125.00 a night there should be some expectation of cleanliness don't you think?

The Manager was pretty cool. He said if we didn't like our stay to contact Travelocity and ask them to give him a call to see about a resolution.

As of this writing Travelocity is just giving me the runaround and no compensation seems imminent.
(Remember that when booking with Travelocity)

In summation, if you're looking for a basic no frills stay close to downtown lodging, this is a perfectly acceptable hotel.

If you're looking for any more than that, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

This Comfort Suite did not live up to it's name! It was not comfortable! The bed was lumpy and was so worn in the center that both parties rolled toward the center even if they did not want to! It is obvious that the hotel is in desperate need of a make over. The furnishing are wornout and the carpeting, window coverings and wall treatments have their best days long behind them. On the plus side I will say that the hotel manager and the staff were pleasant and professional. The shower was wonderful. The location was good. Breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evansee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
City Centre
BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterfront Hotel
Comfort Inn Windsor
#5 of 35 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Caesars Windsor
#1 of 35 in Windsor
4.5 of 5 stars 3,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Downtown

Property: Comfort Suites Downtown
Address: 500 Tuscarora St, Windsor, Ontario N9A 3M2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide a home away from home experience to all our guests. We are located in the heart of beautiful Downtown Windsor offering you fast access to all the local attractions. Casino Windsor, Dance Clubs, Detroit Tunnel, WFCU Arena, Windsor Spitfires, Tiger Games, NEW ADVENTURE BAY WATER PARK, Shopping District and many local restaurants and wineries. All of our rooms come with fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, local calling, FREE WIFI and Hot Breakfast. We offer Guest Appreciation Nights throughout the week. Pets are welcome at a cost of $25.00 per pet/per stay. $5.00 per pet is donated to the Windsor Humane Society. Cash and Debit payments will require a $250.00 Deposit and Photo Identification. Hotel is Smoke Free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Canada, Odigeo, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Downtown Hotel Windsor
Comfort Suites Windsor
Windsor Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Downtown Windsor, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing