We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and Good Value For The Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites Downtown
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Affordable and Good Value For The Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed here on March 16th and 17th of this year for about $75 a night. The location was convenient in terms of proximity to downtown Windsor. Closeby were several restauarants and an excellent pub on the corner of Ouellette Street (Beer and Barrell, or something like that); which had music, ambiance, and good affordable pub food. The room itself had a quiet heating unit and everything that should have been there. Computer in the lobby, and a good buffet breakfast...lots of parking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DuhartToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John322, General Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate and value your feedback. It's always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    38
    37
    7
    6
See reviews for
27
28
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

In November 2012 my wife and I spent a get-way weekend in Windsor This Comfort Suites was an adequate accommodation that frankly could us a little investment but wow, the staff from the front desk and all other were great. For instance Margaret who attends to the breakfast room was so personable and helpful as I got our tea to take up to the room. The kicker came when I went back down and grabbed a paper towel so I could check my car's oil. On hearing this Margaret offered me a latex glove. I didn't want her to know which car was mine for fear of her rotating our tires.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom46774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John322, General Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay with such positive feedback. I have shared your comments with our staff and thank you for the kind words. We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
97 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Spent the night on November 14, 2012. Stayed in a King Suite. Room was spacious and very clean. TV is not high definition flat screen type...it's the older style....but not a big deal as the tv was only watched while lying in bed.
Asked for a late checkout...was granted without a problem. Staff at desk at both checkin and at check out were courteous. Received a phone call 10 minutes after checking in to confirm everything was ok with room.
Bathroom is small...only 1 person can be in it at a time....but it does the job.
Free bkfst was basic fare...waffles, eggs, sausage, muffins, danish, breads, bagels and yogurts. OJ, coffee, tea, milk to drink...plus fresh fruit (apples, bananas)
I would stay here again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimbo1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

I stayed one night at the beginning of October. The room had a musky smell but was clean and comfortable. Bathroom was nice, a few things to fix up but nothing was broken. Service was good, checked in and out easily. Great breakfast included.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellor5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John322, General Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay from Aug 27 to Sept 1 2012. Many thanks to Barry, and Jason who made my stay extra special. All the staff were welcoming and very accommodating, especially appreciative since I am environmentally hypersensitive. I was comfortable in my lovely clean suite with very comfortable bed, TV, fridge, microwave, desk chairs, internet, sofa bed, coffee table etc. I loved the delicious breakfasts, along with 24 hour excellent coffee or tea. I also really appreciated the free daily newspaper, and computer use in the charming lobby. The Comfort Suites Downtown, Windsor ON, was a great home away from home!!!!
Joyce Teron, Windsor, ON

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John322, General Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Hello and thank you for your review. I was very happy to hear of your positive experience staying with us. We hope to see you again soon when you are in the area. Take care and happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Thank you to the staff of the Comfort Suites for making my stay relaxed and easy. The room was dated but clean, sheets fresh and bathroom spotless - everything you need in a hotel room. The front desk went above and beyond when answering my questions regarding what to do on my vacation in Windsor. I had a relaxed, enjoyable visit thanks to the Comfort Suites.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shalinee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John322, General Manager at Comfort Suites Downtown, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Your comments are appreciated very much. We hope to see you again soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The room I had a mildew odor as soon as you walked in and the a/c unit was not functioning properly and its filter was extremely dirty. The carpet was excessively worn. The next morning when I went to the continental breakfast area, there was no coffee made anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neekus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
City Centre
BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterfront Hotel
Caesars Windsor
#1 of 35 in Windsor
4.5 of 5 stars 2,780 reviews
Comfort Inn Windsor
#5 of 35 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Downtown

Property: Comfort Suites Downtown
Address: 500 Tuscarora St, Windsor, Ontario N9A 3M2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Suites Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide a home away from home experience to all our guests. We are located in the heart of beautiful Downtown Windsor offering you fast access to all the local attractions. Casino Windsor, Dance Clubs, Detroit Tunnel, WFCU Arena, Windsor Spitfires, Tiger Games, NEW ADVENTURE BAY WATER PARK, Shopping District and many local restaurants and wineries. All of our rooms come with fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, local calling, FREE WIFI and Hot Breakfast. We offer Guest Appreciation Nights throughout the week. Pets are welcome at a cost of $25.00 per pet/per stay. $5.00 per pet is donated to the Windsor Humane Society. Cash and Debit payments will require a $250.00 Deposit and Photo Identification. Hotel is Smoke Free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Choice Canada, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Downtown Hotel Windsor
Comfort Suites Windsor
Windsor Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Downtown Windsor, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing