We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low value for the Dollar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Windsor
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Windsor
Thornhill
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Low value for the Dollar”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

The rooms are outdated , and need a face lift !!!
Bagels at breakfast were old and stale , poor selection .
This breakfast menu was a direct reflection of a lazy or unhappy person . it is amazing when you get a professional help or advise how the same kind of breakfast can look (I am in sales and travel all over Ontario).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Avshalom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Hello Mr. Avshalom,

I am sorry you were not pleased with the quality of your accommodations at our hotel. However, I would invite you to try our Superior guest rooms the next time you are in Windsor. Our Superior guest rooms are more recently renovated, have more amenities, and are larger in size. The guest room you stayed in, I believe, was a Standard room. We are undertaking a phased renovation and will eventually get around to our Standard rooms, but we are currently focusing on our Superior rooms.

As for the breakfast, I believe you were referring to our complimentary continental breakfast. We do have a restaurant on-site that offers a greater selection of breakfast options, including hot breakfast items such as eggs, omelettes, bacon, ham, pancakes, and french toast. I would also invite you to try our restaurant the next time you are in Windsor.

Thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Regards,
George Chifor, General Manager
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Windsor Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    101
    109
    81
    43
See reviews for
133
88
28
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed at this Hotel last saturday, I had checked in around 6 and had no problem with getting my room; although the hotel is old the renovated room was worth it. A young lady at the front desk was very helpful she helped us choose a nice restaurant to dine and was very polite and welcoming. The room was great; you get what you paid for! We had a good time. The young lady also took time searching for activities to do around the city as well as great restaurants; even as we were on our way to the hotel we phoned and it was the same girl that was very patient and directed us to the hotel. The customer service was amazing. The breakfast was limited but great and the cookies were just delicious!

Room Tip: For the extra $10 (i think) the upgraded room is sure worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel was located far away from the "action" of the city. When we firth arrive we thought for sure we were at the wrong location due to the area yellow taped off. My husband said is this a crime scene? We arrive to a series of questions from Management that really acted quite "funny" to our reservation request of early arrival. We were somewhat insulted by the fact that we needed to make a room deposited before getting our keys. My husband and I pay cash for our travels. We may reserve by credit card but pay with cash. The bed was really comfortable but that was the only thing hood about the stay. Renovations have been taking place for two years..

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amazonfemale77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Amazonfemale77,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. I am sorry your stay at our hotel did not meet your expectations. However, I would like to respond to several of the issues you outlined in your post.

Our hotel is actually centrally-located in Windsor, making all points in the city easily accessible and relatively close by car. There may be other hotels in the downtown area, but they lie at one end of the city, requiring a much longer drive to reach from the 401 (on the Canadian side) and involving greater driving distances relative to other areas of the city. It is important to note that not everyone who travels to Windsor does so with the intent of visiting the downtown area. Furthermore, guests tend to enjoy a quieter stay at our hotel precisely because it is not in the downtown area. Finally, the downtown area is not as remotely-situated from our hotel as your review would make it seem. The downtown area can be reached by a straight five-minute drive down Ouellette Street.

The porte-cochere was taped-off because we were carrying out repairs to that area and wanted to ensure, for the sake of safety, that our guests did not walk through an area that was under construction.

Our check-in time, which is posted on all third party travel sites and which you should have had notice of as a result, is 1:00pm, which is considerably earlier than many hotels, which typically have a check-in time of 3:00pm. As I recall, you arrived at our front desk nearly two hours prior to the 1:00pm check-in time. Although we normally charge an early check-in fee for arrivals as early as yours, we decided to waive it in this instance.

We ask all guests for a deposit to cover any incidentals or damages to the room, whether accidental or deliberate. This is part of our general policy, which we apply to all guests that stay with us. We saw no reason to depart from this policy in this instance. This policy is designed to protect our property from any unfortunate incidents.

Finally, we are undertaking a phased renovation of our hotel. Different areas of the hotel are being renovated at different times. This type of renovation is typical of many hotels.

Once again, thank you for your review and we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to seeing again and hope that you will have a better experience during your next stay.

Sincerely,
George Chifor, General Manager
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Windsor Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabogie, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We booked this hotel as it was close to someone we were visiting. At first glance it seemed a bit older, but when we went in, the place has been renovated somewhat, and the room was spacious, very clean and comfortable. Staff were very helpful and gracious. Breakfast was the usual continental with waffles as well. I was also happy that the road noise could not be heard in the room, a certain plus!
My only issue was a sticky floor in front of the breakfast bar, where someone had made a poor job of mopping up spilled juice.

Room Tip: A room farther from the lobby, which we had, has less traffic of other guests to and fro.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Windsor, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Hello Ms. Pat R,

Thank you for your kind review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I have noted your point about the spilled juice in the breakfast area and we will take steps to ensure that it does not happen again. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel the next time you are in Windsor.

All the best,
George Chifor, General Manager
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Windsor Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
Comfort Inn Windsor
#5 of 35 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Ramada Limited Windsor
#16 of 35 in Windsor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Walkerville
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#8 of 35 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Bexon Rooms
#6 of 35 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Windsor

Property: Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Windsor
Address: 2530 Ouellette Ave, Windsor, Ontario N8X 1L7, Canada (Formerly Marquis Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Windsor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comforts and convenience of a midtown hotel without the clamor and costs of a downtown hotel. Centrally-located in Windsor, Ontario, just five minutes from the downtown core and within minutes of Caesars Windsor Casino, the Detroit Tunnel and the Devonshire Mall, the Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel is the ideal hub around which to plan your visit to Windsor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquis Plaza Windsor
Marquis Plaza Hotel Windsor
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Windsor Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing