We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, Cheap and Quiet!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Windsor
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Windsor
STRATHMORE
1 review
“Convenient, Cheap and Quiet!”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed at this location for 5 nights and would stay here again. While the bathrooms were quite outdated (mustard yellow sink/tub), the room was large/spacious and clean. My mattress had a huge "sinkhole" in the middle but since I was sleeping alone it wasn't a problem.

I was only down the hall from the lobby/breakfast area but never had any problems with noise.Staff were friendly and helpful. Convenient location and plenty of parking. Was nice to have a room with a microwave and mini-fridge!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank FAYE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    105
    114
    87
    44
See reviews for
141
92
30
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The whole room probably had a total of 10 spiders. I slept horrilble since I was too grosse out to sleep with spiders in every corner. Rooms need to be updated. Also the outside of the hotel was falling apart!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Windsor hotels

Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Hotel was old, had a really awful smell in the room and no windows that we could open. But other than that, the room was fairly clean. We were just looking for a quick one night stay, and this was ok for the price we paid.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travoholic_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Conveniently located. Our renovated room had a sewage odor coming from the bathroom. We stayed a few nights and the worst part is that we got little sleep. The air conditioning was really loud and it was impossible to sleep through the night. We had friends in two other rooms and they had the same experience. We got home after our trip exhausted and in need of sleep. Also room was humid and mouldy smell. I would stay at another location next time to avoid these issues. It would make for a much better stay. Hope that helps.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

very clean, rooms cleaned every day with fresh linen provided,
good size rooms
staff very nice & helpfull, always have a smile on their face. the owner george is always on hand to offer any help that you require.
food basic but very fresh.
location very good,
this was my 3rd time to stay at this hotel and it will not be my last,
i wish every hotel was like this one

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerrard f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

When we first arrived there was a strong chemical smell in the hallway, which we though would not be in the room. The room smelled just as bad! At first it appeared clean but very old. The yellow tub and yellow pedestal sink were older that all of us. Then I had a look at the tiled wall above the sink and there was a long black hair stuck to the wall. There was mold under the rim of the bathtub and rust around the door. The bathroom door stuck so luckily I wasn't alone in the room when leaving the bathroom...or I would still be there! If you're tall than forget about a shower. The shower head is at about the 5 foot 7 inch mark. The "queen size" bed (really just a double/full) was so uncomfortable that neither of us slept. It sunk to the middle and when we slept on the outside we felt like we were going to fall off the edge. The complimentary breakfast offered nothing. By 8:15 there was no fresh fruit other than a couple apples there. They offered some bread and english muffins to toast. Luckily a Tim Hortons is within a few front steps of the front door. We would have been more comfortable sleeping in the car!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We booked this hotel because it was close to the hall (we were attending a family wedding). Very easy to find it. Staff was friendly and helpful with getting us to the church and the hall. Room, clean, normal size but nicely decorated, reasonable priced. Lot's of free parking. Continental breakfast included and the staff very helpful with helping making the waffle/toast.

Room Tip: quite hotel all over, please note that this hotel has no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
Comfort Inn Windsor
#5 of 35 in Windsor
173 reviews
Ramada Limited Windsor
#23 of 35 in Windsor
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Walkerville
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#7 of 35 in Windsor
150 reviews
City Centre
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Windsor

Property: Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Windsor
Address: 2530 Ouellette Ave, Windsor, Ontario N8X 1L7, Canada (Formerly Marquis Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Windsor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comforts and convenience of a midtown hotel without the clamor and costs of a downtown hotel. Centrally-located in Windsor, Ontario, just five minutes from the downtown core and within minutes of Caesars Windsor Casino, the Detroit Tunnel and the Devonshire Mall, the Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel is the ideal hub around which to plan your visit to Windsor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquis Plaza Windsor
Marquis Plaza Hotel Windsor
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Windsor Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing