We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Windsor
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Windsor
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This hotel was really outdated, and the first 2 rooms I checked into had non functioning
a/c units. The temperature was around 37 celsius (100 farenheit) so a/c was a must.
The staff was friendly though just not very helpful when it came to activities in Windsor

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanadianWraith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawmasters, General Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. I am sorry your stay was troubled by the problems you outlined in your comment above. However, please understand that our establishment has recently converted from an indepedent hotel to a Howard Johnson and we will be undertaking renovations shortly. I am certain that the next time you stay at our hotel, you will find our guest rooms to be more contemporary in appearance. Our rooms will also have guest directories, which will provide our guests with information about local attractions and events, and part of that process will be to ensure that our front desk staff are properly informed about what is going on in the city. Finally, I apologize for the problems you encountered with our air conditioning units. We have instituted new measures to ensure that this problem does not occur again. I hope this satisfactorily addresses the various issues you noted and I would invite you to come back to our hotel again to see the progress that we have made in responding to your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Windsor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 405 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2011

Stayed at the HoJo plaza Hotel in Windsor for 2 nights June 11 and 12th.The room was clean AC worked fine shower fine, fridge fine.
There was plenty of choice there for the continental breakfast.
It is located just away from the city and walking would be tricky as there is no sidewalk along the road for the section that goes over the railline.But still close if driving.
Our stay was quiet and we were there on a week-end.
We picked this hotel to be away from the partiers down-town and it worked out for us.
I would stay here again and the rate of $70 was great for us.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parrothead12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

I've stayed two nights at this hotel and I was very pleased.
The room is clean, you have lots of choices for breakfast. There is free internet connection in room. Their rates are also very appealing. It is located close to the US Tunnel.
I would go back again and I would recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura4466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sylvparent1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank melseb7976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank styrs
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
George C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 30, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Joann G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
Ramada Limited Windsor
#20 of 35 in Windsor
77 reviews
Comfort Inn Windsor
#5 of 35 in Windsor
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Motel 6 Windsor
#26 of 35 in Windsor
34 reviews
City Centre
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor
Walkerville
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#7 of 35 in Windsor
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Windsor

Address: 2530 Ouellette Ave, Windsor, Ontario N8X 1L7, Canada (Formerly Marquis Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range: $64 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Windsor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comforts and convenience of a midtown hotel without the clamor and costs of a downtown hotel. Centrally-located in Windsor, Ontario, just five minutes from the downtown core and within minutes of Caesars Windsor Casino, the Detroit Tunnel and the Devonshire Mall, the Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel is the ideal hub around which to plan your visit to Windsor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquis Plaza Windsor
Marquis Plaza Hotel Windsor
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Windsor Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing