We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm of two minds on this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Windsor
Edmonton
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“I'm of two minds on this hotel”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I was here on a business trip in October. The staff was great. The hotel has reserved parking for IHG members which was awesome. I got a nice little snack and some water in my room which was clean enough. However the renovation of the bathroom doesn't make sense. There's a beautiful sink and vanity set in their but its oversized for the room and makes some visits a bit uncomfortable. Then there was the location of my room. On the one hand it was awesome as I looked out at Caesar's Palace and over the Canada border crossing so there was lots to see but on the other hand my room actually wrapped around the elevator shaft so the elevator was actually running right beside the bed....so weird. Anyway just don't get an #01 room and you'll probably be ok. The location on Ouellette is great as there's lots to walk around and look at, and the price was right. I'd give it another chance but in a different room. on and your room key gets you 15% off at the attached restaurant.

Room Tip: just don't get an #01
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PegLeg-and-SherBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIWINDSOR, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear PegLeg-and-SherBear,

I apologize that you had a less than satisfactory stay with us. We would love to welcome you back again to try a different room, this time away from the elevator.

I would also like to thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel team. I have shared them with the entire staff so they may see them.

Once again PegLeg-and-SherBear, we look forward to welcoming you again to the Holiday Inn Downtown.

Yours In Hospitality,
Sheila Morton
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    64
    48
    22
    18
See reviews for
37
53
17
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
492 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 462 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I spent one night at this hotel and I was impressed. All staff that I spoke with were friendly and professional. I was very pleased that my room and lobby were updated and in great condition. My room was spotless. If travelling to Windsor again, I would be very pleased to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wbsAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIWINDSOR, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear wbsCalgary,

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Holiday Inn. I have passed along your comments regarding the cleanliness and the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back again for your next visit to Windsor.

Yours in Hospitality,
Sheila Morton
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I was down in Windsor to visit family for Thanksgiving. Enjoyed my stay here. Excellent location, the staff was quite friendly and the room was very clean.

Will definitely stay here again when I'm back in WIndsor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIWINDSOR, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Jay M,

Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Downtown Windsor. We are so glad to hear that you had a great stay over the Thanksgiving holiday.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Yours in Hospitality,

Sheila Morton
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My fiancee surprised me with tickets to see a show at the Casino, and he wanted to make our weekend feel like a getaway weekend (seeing as how we live in Windsor) so he booked us at the Holiday Inn Downtown Windsor. I'm glad he did :)

First off let me say the staff was great, they were friendly when we checked in and also when they saw us coming and going in the lobby they always said hello, parking is convenient (we walked to our show and back) and we were very impressed with the rooms because they were very clean, you could tell they take pride in their work.

I am looking forward to our next getaway weekend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eeyore205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIWINDSOR, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Eeyore205,

We are so happy to hear that you and your fiancée had a great stay at our hotel. On behalf of the entire hotel team, that you for your kind words. I have shared them with the entire team, and we all hope we can welcome you back for your next getaway weekend.

Yours in Hospitality,

Sheila Morton
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

While this Holiday Inn may be one of the elder Inn's in the chain it was extremely convenient (literally just a block around the corner from entering through customs from Detroit, MI)-it had the charm, cleanliness and pleasantly professional and courteous staff (Nick greeted us when we arrived and was very helpful) that one should expect from an Inn provider. The hotel is a bit dated but the restaurant/lounge attached to it has great service (thanks to Kelli Ann and her coworker for a great breakfast and happy hour conversations) and the food was very good. Being right on Ouellette Avenue was ideal for an overnight stay as it was a very active and bustling downtown thoroughfare with all kinds of folks enjoying themselves until wee hours of the morning. Everywhere we went we found very friendly and welcoming people (The Friendly Lawyer's bartenders Cullin and Sam were great fun!). Other than losing my money at Caesar's Casino the weekend was great but then again, I typically lose regardless of the casino-fortunately, my buddy did pretty well. We saw the Pet Shop Boys in concert at Caesar's-a great venue if you're looking for a good concert in the future. We will definitely be going back and staying at this Holiday Inn again. Btw, a beautiful view of Detroit at night across the river. So used to seeing Windsor that it was quite striking to see Detroit glimmering off the water in the moonlight.

Room Tip: We booked on Hotwire (first time users) and got this room for $92 a night and that included parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thepartyguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIWINDSOR, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear thepartyguys,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We always appreciate hearing back from our guests, and we are all happy to see that you had a most enjoyable stay. We strive to make each guest's stay a great one.

I have shared your wonderful comments with all our staff at the hotel and in the restaurant.

We hope we can welcome you back to the Holiday Inn again soon.

Yours in hospitality,

Sheila Morton
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I am staying regularly in this Hotel and like always to come back ,the rooms are large and very clean ,the location is perfect close to all attractions ,bars and restaurants ,but most important the staff is very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulgeci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIWINDSOR, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Paulgeci,

Thank you for once again choosing our hotel for your stay in Windsor. We are happy to hear that our staff was once again as pleasant as always.

We look forward to welcoming you again for your next trip to Windsor.

Yours in Hospitality,

Sheila Morton
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We picked a perfect time to come to Windsor! The hotel was in the heart of all the festivals, we arrived before check in time and the lady at the front desk was able to get us in early, she was great. Loved the follow up call to our room, making sure everything was fine with our room. The housekeeping staff made sure we never had to ask for extra towels! We were very impressed and will defiantly return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIWINDSOR, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Jen M.,

On behalf of the entire hotel team, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful time during your stay. Being the summer months we have plenty of festivals and things to do in the city. I will be sure to pass along your wonderful comments to all of the staff.

Once again Jen, thank you for choosing our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sheila Morton
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
Caesars Windsor
#1 of 35 in Windsor
6,565 reviews
City Centre
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Walkerville
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#7 of 35 in Windsor
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown
Address: 430 Ouellette Ave, Windsor, Ontario N9A 1B2, Canada (Formerly Ramada)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Downtown Windsor Hotel Welcomes You. Our hotel offers the ideal location for business travelers and vacationers in the heart of downtown Windsor. Recently changed to 100% non-smoking and centrally located on Ouellette Avenue, our guests are just steps away from dining and nightlife. Enjoy our on-site restaurant, "On The Avenue" for lunch, dinner or the all-day breakfast where kids under 12 eat free. It also features a cocktail lounge and a seasonal patio where you can relax and be seen on the strip. You’ll find plenty to do, from swimming in our heated indoor pool to working out at the fitness center. Our warm, friendly, multilingual staff are ready to accommodate your needs. We offer conference and catering services as well as a business center and meeting space. We are also just steps away from Caesars Casino, The Chrysler Theatre, and minutes from Detroit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown Hotel Windsor
Ramada Windsor
Windsor Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing