We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel Indeed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Windsor
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Hotel Indeed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

This is a fantastic hotel. Fun check in and fantastic room service. Loved the location especially for a nice evening walk along the riverfront. I hate to leave but I will be back and I recommend you come visit as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertO724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIWINDSOR, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Dear Robert,

Thank you for our kind words about our hotel. It is great to hear from you again, and we have shared our comments with our entire hotel team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back during your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    62
    42
    21
    17
See reviews for
35
52
17
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

Hi i stayed here with my daughter for her basketball tournament. When we got in from her game and dinner it was 11:30 at night.When my daughter got out of the shower all she wanted was to go to bed WELL she pulled down the blankets and there was a POO stain there like someone wiped there butt with her sheets. I went down to front desk and was freaking and they did which me rooms and they also said it was chocolate the maid was eating while making the bed. Well in my eyes i don't care what it was every bed should be fully cleaned.
I will not stay there AGAIN!!!
Helen.....Markham ont

Room Tip: Check your sheets before you get into bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIWINDSOR, General Manager at Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear Helen,

Thank you for your comments, I remember speaking with you personally in March. I can assure you that the issue was address immediately with the housekeeping department. Once again I apologize for the problem you encountered and can assure you this is not a standard at the Holiday Inn. I sincerely hope you will give us another try the next time you are in Windsor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Windsor hotels

Ontario
Level Contributor
152 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

I am booked to stay here in october but had the chance recently to do a quick overnight as my friend was staying there.. this hotel is clean and has nice facilities and the staff are really nice. In comparison to the Casino hotel this is much, much cheaper and the location is really handy to downtown and restaurants, bars etc.,

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ValyaR49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIWINDSOR, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Dear 4rkidz,

Thank you for your kind review. We love to hear from our guests about how their stay was. Your comments have been shared with the entire staff, and we are looking forward to welcoming you back this October.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

When I booked this hotel months ago, my only option was a smoking room. I was not prepared for the stench of smoke. Even people in our group who smoke found it very odorous.
As there are no windows to open, you must rely on the air conditioner - which I am afraid may have also had a smoke filled filter in it. We kept the door wide open to try and clear it out. Later tried leaving the door ajar a bit, only to have it slammed shut the first evening. We inquired to the man down the hall if we had been disturbing someone, and were rudely told that due to fire safety it was his job to make sure all doors were closed.
In addition to that, although we found it quite quiet, around 11:00 the bars in the area spring to life. Expect extremely loud music, yelling, police sirens and lights. We turned the air conditioner back on and used ear plugs to keep the noise out.
The swimming pool is nice as it has a deep portion, however the entry/exit is very unsafe with a large step and no hand rail.
I will not stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: THe only advice from me in regard to choosing a good room in this hotel is to choose a different hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Techymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIWINDSOR, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear Techymum,

Thank you for your review, and I would like to apologize for the unpleasant stay you had while at our property. We strive to make every guest experience a good one. I would like to speak with you further regarding your stay. If you can please contact the hotel at your earliest convenience so we may speak further.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, OH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

We found this hotel to be very nice, It was very clean, The front desk personnel were especially helpful. Hotel was very quiet. The only inconvenience was the distance to downtown. It is a bit far but in a very nice area. If you are looking forward a very nice, quiet hotel but are not annoyed but the drive to attractions in Windsor, this is a good choice for you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dbathmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Attended a concert at the casino and did not feel like spending $300-$500 for a one-night stay, so I returnrd to the Holiday Inn. Got a great room for a reasonable amount. Saved enough on the romm to go out for dinner and a few drinks at one of the many bars and resturants on the main street.All the entertaiment you could ask for right out the front door and within walking distance. For the price and location, it can`t be beat. Will gladly return for future events I attend. Rooms are clean and spacious with flat screens tv`s being installed.

Room Tip: On weekend visits the rooms on the east side are much more quiet as it is a bar scene on the main st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

This hotel is located in a very old building and from the outside appears to be rundown and tired. Not very confidence inspiring. I entered with some concern only to be greeted by "Heather" who was one of the most service oriented and caring young women I have met in this industry. I expected to drop my bags and go to my grandmother's bedside at the local hospital. No. Heather checked with housekeeping and within minutes I was allowed to check in (before 11 am -after my delayed red-eye flight) so I could change and freshen up. Over the next few days she not only recognized my all-nighter and ensured I would not be woken by housekeeping; she researched florists etc. for me as needed. I can't say enough about the overall service I experienced at this property. The housekeeping staff even left a thank you note when I left a tip on the pillow. I have never received that before. This property was clean, comfortable and though the amenities weren't as good as I'm sure others in the downtown area were I couldn't have been more comfortable. Thank you Holiday Inn - you made a sad emotional trip a comfortable, caring and pleasant experience. What more could I have asked for? The attached restaurant with it's 15% discount had good food and also excellent service. I ate there twice. I ordered room service one night and that was also an excellent experience. Good food, hot and quick. AND excellent service. Obviously this property's most valuable resource is its employees. Congratulations.

Room Tip: My room was on the east side overlooking the tunnel. It was quiet and I got the morning sun which wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracyohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIWINDSOR, Manager at Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear tracyohn,

Thank you for the wonderful comments regarding our staff. They brought a smile to our faces when reading them. We hope we can welcome you back to our hotel very soon.

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
Caesars Windsor
#1 of 35 in Windsor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,142 reviews
Walkerville
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#8 of 35 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor
Comfort Inn Windsor
#5 of 35 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown
Address: 430 Ouellette Ave, Windsor, Ontario N9A 1B2, Canada (Formerly Ramada)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Downtown Windsor Hotel Welcomes You. Our hotel offers the ideal location for business travelers and vacationers in the heart of downtown Windsor. Recently changed to 100% non-smoking and centrally located on Ouellette Avenue, our guests are just steps away from dining and nightlife. Enjoy our on-site restaurant, "On The Avenue" for lunch, dinner or the all-day breakfast where kids under 12 eat free. It also features a cocktail lounge and a seasonal patio where you can relax and be seen on the strip. You’ll find plenty to do, from swimming in our heated indoor pool to working out at the fitness center. Our warm, friendly, multilingual staff are ready to accommodate your needs. We offer conference and catering services as well as a business center and meeting space. We are also just steps away from Caesars Casino, The Chrysler Theatre, and minutes from Detroit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown Hotel Windsor
Ramada Windsor
Windsor Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing