We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfy.”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Windsor
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Older hotel but in great shape and clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Place has some character to it. No elevator for those who can't carry bags. Good location with plenty of things to do.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrGreenthumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestserver, Guest Services Representative at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2012

Mr Green Thumb, thank you for your review. Your concerns about us not having an elevator will be a helpful hint for those future guests reading your comments. We are an older building with only 2 storeys so there aren't to many stairs to climb, and I do agree with you I also think the Hotel does have some character. Our staff really does try to keep the property in great shape and clean and you can see their pride through this. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Comfort Inn on Dougall in Windsor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 190 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2012

On our way back from the States, it was late and after five hours of driving, I didn't feel like driving anymore. A quick google search gave us this hotel as an option. The staff was very friendly in making last minute accomodations and we very much so enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestserver, Guest Services Representative at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2012

Alex, Thank you so much for your comments and praises. Our staff really does appreciate hearing that we have another satisfied guest. I do appologize for the delay in responding to you. We are glad you stayed with us here at the Comfort Inn on Dougall Ave., and you are right!, it is always safer to pull over and get accommodations than to continue driving when you are tired. Take Care and we hope to see you again when you visit Windsor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

This is a simple, clean and efficient motel/hotel and a great place to stay if, like us, you are just passing through town.

It is on the main road that leads into downtown Windsor (5 minutes) and a block from the highway that leads towards the Ambassador Bridge and the U.S., therefore very accessible. But don't let that give you the wrong idea, it is incredibly quiet.

On the plus side: the room is very large, with a sofa/sitting area, a small table, fridge and a microwave. A very comfortable queen size bed and an average sized bathroom with plush towels. There is free wi-fi in the room, a decent breakfast included in the price and ample free parking.
Also, the reception has coupons for 20% off at Cramdon's Tap & Eatery restaurant located across the street.

On the downside: Only a few small things stood out and all of them are esthetical. The bathroom was functional, but was quite dated and could have used some upkeep. There was no closet, only a rod with hangers right next to the bed (see photos). There was a bedside table only on one side of the bed, I had to put a chair on my side to be able to put my things down.
Again, not major things but little details that could make the room better and more functional.

Finally, the biggest thing this hotel has going for it is its staff. Most particularly a lady named Kim. I was in contact with Kim a few times to make arrangements before our arrival and had a few questions regarding sights/restaurants after our arrival and she could not have been more pleasant and helpful. Thank you Kim.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stinz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestserver, Guest Services Representative at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2011

Thank your for your review. We are happy to hear your were comfortable during your stay with us. Our staff is always trying to improve customer service and we continue striving for complete customer satisfaction. Yes, we are in a great location and we do promote our neighbouring businesses including local watering holes and such.
We are also very pleased Kim has joined our team, and thank you, it is always nice to get feedback about our staff--(way to go Kim).
Thank you for your concerns, we are always working toward improvement, and we hope to see you on your next visit to Windsor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed for the weekend looking for an apt. and the staff was great. Every time we asked the front desk girls where someting was they knew. The staff here is so friendly and will accomodate you. Its nice to get a big smile and a good morning from all the staff and the breakfast is great too!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestserver, Guest Services Representative at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

Thanks for your positive and encouraging review. We are happy to hear you have found an Apartment here in our city. Welcome!, as I have noted in past review responses, our staff really do take pride in their customer service. We all like to receive a smile, and what better way to get one, by giving one. We are glad you enjoyed our Comfort Sunshine Breakfast, there sure is enough there to fill a hollow belly in the morning. Remember now, when family come to visit we are right here on the corner of Dougall Ave. and West Grand Blvd. See ya soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Called to reserve a room the day we needs it, the staff who took the call was friendly and very helpful, was able to get us room and offered the caa rate without me asking. Room was not fancy but clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boatshoppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestserver, Guest Service Representative at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

Thank you so much for your review. Its great that we had a room for you the same day but we do recommend booking in advance to guarantee the room type you desire. Our staff take great pride in their customer service and it is always nice to hear they are doing a great job. We hope to see you again in the future here at the Comfort Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

First thing: Front desk lady was very helpful.
The area has several fast food spots and a Walmart.
The room was clean and basic. The price was good.
Prefer the Holiday Inn Select or Hampton Inn when in Windsor, but wanted to try this property again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edulinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestserver, Guest Services Representative at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2011

Thank you for posting a review and thank you for giving us at the Comfort Inn another try. Our staff, whether Management, Guest Services, Housekeeping even our Maintenance Dept. really do take pride in their service and if they are not sure of a question from a guest, whether its, "where is a laundry mat" or "where can I get a great steak" they will find the answer for you. Also, You mentioned the Hampton and Holiday Inn, as they are bigger hotels than we are with more amenities, we try to make up for the amenities we don't have with the awesome ones we do. We hope to see you again in the future at the Comfort Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

A good deal, considering the convenient location, free parking, free internet, free breakfast, and refrigerator and microwave in room. Cannot go wrong with this place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1BigDaddy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestserver, Guest Services at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2011

We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your referral and recommendation of our hotel. Its not to often anymore, that we get complimentary inclusions with our purchases, so when we do its a nice treat. Our staff at the Comfort Inn Dougall Ave. strives each and every day to have all our guests experience what you have during your stay and we hope to see you again, soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Ambassador Bridge
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterfront Hotel
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Caesars Windsor
Caesars Windsor
#1 of 35 in Windsor
8,356 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor Waterfront
2.4 mi away
Lexington Inn & Suites Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 2955 Dougall Ave, Windsor, Ontario N9E 1S1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Windsor
#3 Best Value Hotel in Windsor
Price Range: $98 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Windsor is a pet-friendly hotel nestled in beautiful suburban South Windsor with easy access to 401, EC Row and all major transportation hubs and border crossings. Ten minutes' drive to downtown Windsor's exciting nightlife and Caesars Windsor Casino; moments away from Devonshire Mall and dining can be found nearby. Free Comfort Sunshine breakfast and award-winning service will ensure a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Windsor Hotel Windsor
Windsor Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Windsor, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing