We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“will return again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Windsor
GreenLeadersGold level
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“will return again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

stayed in the property Sep 20 - 22 as part of a weekend hockey tournament for my son. Our association makes it a point of staying in this property when we visit in September and in January for tournaments. King executive suite was clean and modern. Pool and exercise room met our needs. Hotel staff was agreeable for the most part given the property was full and very busy. No included breakfast however there are a number of options nearby......including the Tim Hortons right adjacent to the hotel. Staff were doing the best to accomodate young hockey players and their parents. Hospitality rooms in the basement certainly helped keep the noise to a minimum on the floors above. Our team will be back in January for OMHAs. Will be in touch with Kim soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leftylenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your most recent stay at the hotel during your son's hockey tournament.

We are a very popular hotel on weekends with sports teams and do our best to accommodate the multitude of requests that we receive during busy weekends.

We hope that your son had a great tournament and we look forward to having you stay with us again in January. Thanks again and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    144
    46
    17
    15
See reviews for
81
48
13
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Large Holiday Inn - Well situated from the Ambassador Bridge to / from the US. Large Parking lot - No extra charge to park. Large lobby - small snack bar adjacent to from desk. Nice restaurant - Grill 55 attached to hotel. full breakfast / room service. Room was nice and clean - carpets could use an upgrade ... bathroom was clean - water hot .. T.V was in good condition. bed was comfortable with a good assortment of pillows. All in all a good stay - will stay again.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the ice machine & elevators - which would be rooms ending in 01 / 18, 19...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Good morning!

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge while in Windsor. We appreciate your business and for posting your comments on this site.

We are very proud of our hotel and always strive to ensure that our guests have a great experience when staying here.

Thanks again and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a hockey tournament. We booked a room that had a kitchenette which was very convenient. The king bed was comfortable. The mattress in the pull out couch was a little worn and thin and would not be comfortable for an adult to sleep on (blanket needs replacing). The kids had a great time at the pool but be sure to bring your own towel as the towel supply was limited.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay this past weekend. We were definitely busy with the hockey teams and do our best to try and keep up with the towels/pool area. Our pool is a very busy spot on weekends...which is great! Many Marco Polo games have been played in that pool!

I will definitely pass along your comments regarding the pull out sofa to our Executive Housekeeper and Rooms Division Manager so that these concerns can be addressed and reviewed.

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn & Suites and we look forward to having you stay with us next time. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I was here for the night as I was commuting to Toronto. The hotel was more than satisfactory. The staff was very professional and courteous. The room was nice and comfortable. It was very clean with a really comfortable bed. The rate was reasonable for this area. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn & Suites Ambassador Bridge as your accommodation partner during your stay in Windsor. We are very pleased that you had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay and look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

If you are a frequent traveller and enjoy collecting points, please review the new and improved IHG Rewards Program (formerly Priority Club). It's a great program!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were upgraded to a two room king bedded suite, which was nice. It was large, except for the bathroom & clean. Although not that much better than that of the Super 8 in Peterborough, ON which was much cheaper. The staff were very friendly & allowed us a complementary late check out. The pool was nice. It was clean throughout. The attached restaurant Grill 55, which we learned is not part of the hotel was horrendous though. Food was edible, just, but the service was diabolical.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlie743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn & Suites during your stay in Windsor. We certainly appreciate your comments and are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We take great pride in our hotel and work to ensure that all of our guests are pleased with their stay. When making price comparisons you have to consider the services and amenities offered by each property.

I would like to apologize for your unpleasant experience with Grill 55. I will certainly pass along your comments and concerns to the Food and Beverage Director for Sodexo so that he is aware of this.

Many thanks for your time and consideration and we hope that you choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornbury, Canada
Level Contributor
179 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Reception was very professional, and my room was quickly changed when a minor problem presented itself. The hotel offers free parking and WiFi, and there was an onsite restaurant, but no complimentary breakfast. I stayed on the 7th floor..elevators where fast. The hotel is modern and offers clean well-appointed rooms with all the amenities. While I found the room rate overpriced for a hotel that was located on a busy major artery, it was convenient and provided a comfortable sleep.

Room Tip: The higher floors were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay! We are very conveniently located about 2 kilometres from the Ambassador Bridge and very easily accessible.

We certainly appreciate your comments and look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aurora, on
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed here one night on business after crossing the border from Detroit. It's location is good and the hotel is pretty modernized. The 2 complaints I have about this location are the price (hotels in nicer parts of Metro Detroit are cheaper at IHG brands) and the old noisy air conditioning units in the rooms. I was pleased with the overall experience and would consider staying here in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gogglespisano007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback during your last stay!

We are certainly priced differently from the hotels in the Metro Detroit area because the supply in Detroit is much greater than in Windsor, resulting in lower pricing.

Also, I do apologize if the air conditioning unitl in your room was noisy. I do hope that you called our front desk during your stay to have our maintenance team service the unit.

We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
City Centre
BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterfront Hotel
Caesars Windsor
#1 of 35 in Windsor
4.5 of 5 stars 3,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Windsor
#5 of 35 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge
Address: 1855 Huron Church Rd, Windsor, Ontario N9C 2L6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Windsor
#3 Business Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge is excited to welcome you to our hotel! Our 214 room property is the only full service hotel in our neighborhood. Grill 55 is our onsite restaurant offering breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service for those that prefer to dine in the comfort of their guest room. Our well appointed hotel offers has a number of meeting rooms in various sizes totaling over 17,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. With over 225 complimentary parking spots, we've got room for everyone! We are also pleased to provide complimentary wireless internet throughout our entire hotel, a large fresh indoor saltwater pool and a functional fitness room for those that like to get up and go! So...When you are looking for hotel accommodations or a place to hold your next meeting or event...Look no further. The Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge is the perfect place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn And Suites
Holiday Hotel Windsor
Holiday Inn Windsor
Windsor Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge Windsor, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing