We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Windsor
GreenLeadersGold level
Lindsay, Ontario
Level Contributor
118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of a conference package from the Ontario Archaeological Society. The accomodations were very reasonable, clean, and comfortable. Our room had a kitchenette, sofa, louge chair, and a king sized bed, as well as a balcony, and was at the back of the building and very quiet. It is easy to find from the 401. The onsite restaurant offered delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner options with a varied, interesting, affordable menu. Tim Hortons was also next door, and only a 5 minute walk from our room. A very short drive away was a Wendy's, a Pizza Hut, a thai restaurant and the liquor store. However, if you are looking for a downtown hotel, this is not the place, although it is only approx. a 10 minute drive to the downtown core. This hotel is on the road which leads directly to the bridge to Detroit. A big plus of this hotel was also its proximity to the outlet mall and large Devonshire Mall. Coming from a small town where we don't have any large malls, this was especially good for the times when my husband was at the conference sessions I had chosen not to attend. I would highly recommend this location for a conference. The session rooms were more than adequate and the food arrangements for the conference were exceptional.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debit7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I will share your comments will our entire staff as we thoroughly enjoyed having you stay with us during the conference. I look forwardt having the opportunity to host this prestigious event again in the future. Many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    149
    46
    18
    16
See reviews for
84
49
13
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

From the moment we arrived, we were greated with less than a warm welcome. I was harassed over the room rate and room type I booked online. Not my first time at the rodeo but they made matters worse with the attitude.
The stay ended with a terrible breakfast in the newly renovated restaurant. The rooms need a reno

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Check in was a mess. Over half an hour. They did have complementary popcorn in the lobby, but reserved quantities to a handful. They did not have coffee. If you are coming from a distance and are tired and hungry this isn't the ideal check in. Complimentary coffee is only offered on the morning...but of course they forgot to mention that it is only on weekdays.

Out room had only shampoo. We could not get conditioner. It was not their policy????? They said they offer only shampoo and mouthwash. We didn't get the mouthwash either.

The pool ran out of towels. Staff was rude when I requested them. We had to wait for housekeeping to bring them and were told they could not leave the pool area. Both the pool and hot tub were freezing cold.

I would choose another hotel in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Homeinguelph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your comments and we are extremely sorry that you were disappointed in your stay! When we have busy team weekends, we ensure that our front desk is staffed accordingly. When there is an entire team or two checking in at once, it can delay the check in process at any hotel, and our goal is provide an expedient and proper check in for all of our guests. We have gotten great comments regarding the popcorn in the past as this us a unique offering from our hotel. We do not limit anyone's intake and all guests are welcome to come down as often as possible to enjoy this snack. We do have a full service restaurant onsite, and a Tim Hortons in our parking lot, which provides accessibility for coffee and other refreshments for all of our guests. We do provide a coffee and tea service during the week until 9:00 a.m - Monday - Friday. For our weekend clients we provide the popcorn service upon check in, complimentary hospitality rooms for those teams that require them, a team table in the front lobby and other amenities that are not offered to our corporate clients during the week.

Both the housekeeping and maintenence departments have been made aware of your experience regarding the shampoo/ conditioner in your guestroom, the towels in the pool area and the temperature in both the pool and the hot tub. Our goal is to make sure our guests are happy and we sincerely apologize for not providing you with these brand standards.

We sincerely hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future and please know that all of the necessary folllow up will be done with the management team to correct these oversights. Once again, thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

My family and I stayed here for one night after spending a night at the horrible Windsor Ramada. They were the first property I called to get my family out of the Ramada, not because I've stayed here before, but because certain expectations of mine are met in a Holiday Inn.

The staff was helpful and friendly. The speakers with music out front are a nice touch. The property is older, but well maintained. Everything in the room worked fine, and the beds were great. Probably a little overpriced, but not too bad.

The food in the restaurant is OK, but nothing to write home about. The location is good, as there are banks and drug stores nearby, and it's just off EC Row. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterBungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and for giving us the opportunity to host your family! We do have a great location, close to many amenities and we take great pride in our hotel.

We welcome the opportunity to having you and your family stay with us once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

In the past two years, while on business throughout southwestern Ontario, I have had the pleasure of having spent many nights at this hotel. The executive king suites are exceptional for someone on a business trip, with large work spaces and all of the amenities a business person having to live on the road would want. The staff at the front desk and all of the supporting cast are friendly and helpful. They have undergone a great deal of upgrading and renovation over the past two years, and the hotel looks fantastic. Absolutely the best hotel that I have stayed at!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding our hotel. Our entire team takes great pride in ensuring that all of our guests have a great experience. We use all of the feedback that is received, as a way to praise our associates or to use it as a training opportunity so we appreciated your feedback. Thank you for your business and continued support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Having stayed at this location numerous times, I am left with two very different views on the quality of service. On a few occasions, I found the front desk staff helpful, friendly and professional. However, on more occasions I found the front desk staff surly, uninformed of the hotel's policies (e.g. I had to twice explain why I was asking for the kids eat free coupons which I believe is a company policy) and almost indifferent to customer service. If you are dealing with the evening staff at the front desk - good luck to you. I have never encountered such indifference bordering on downright rudeness at a decent chain hotel. After having stayed at the same location numerous times, I was interrogated about my request for a kids eat free coupon in an unprofessional manner. Basic service standards (their next smile will be their first - it seems like you are somehow inconveniencing their night by showing up) at night were not even close to being met and I was made to feel unwelcome in a hotel that I have given a lot of business to. I would highly recommend that alternate hotels be considered for a stay in Windsor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueBear64_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and we apologize for the negative experience you had during you recent stay at our hotel. Our commitment and dedication to excellent guest service is something we strive to demonstrate in our guest’s expectations every day, and to hear of your experience, was truly disappointing to us. This is not typical of our property as we have won many awards for our "service". Please be assured that your comments will be used as a traiing tool to reiterate the expectations of our front desk associates. We hope that when you visit Windsor again, you give our property another opportunity to redeem ourselves. Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed here for a friends wedding. No complaints to speak of as everything was up to standards as expected at holiday in. It was clean,bed were comfortable and the adjacent restaurant was decently valued as well. Location was what we needed and close to Ambassador Bridge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stang1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your comments and for staying at the Holiday Inn and Suites - Ambassador Bridge while attending your friends wedding! Our hotel is in a prime location for those that need quick access to the Ambassador Bridge and to Hwy 401. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Windsor
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Waterfront Hotel
2.8 mi away
Caesars Windsor
Caesars Windsor
#1 of 34 in Windsor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Windsor
Comfort Inn Windsor
#5 of 34 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Ambassador Bridge
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge
Address: 1855 Huron Church Rd, Windsor, Ontario N9C 2L6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Windsor
#3 Business Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge is excited to welcome you to our hotel! Our 214 room property is the only full service hotel in our neighborhood. Grill 55 is our onsite restaurant offering breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service for those that prefer to dine in the comfort of their guest room. Our well appointed hotel offers has a number of meeting rooms in various sizes totaling over 17,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. With over 225 complimentary parking spots, we've got room for everyone! We are also pleased to provide complimentary wireless internet throughout our entire hotel, a large fresh indoor saltwater pool and a functional fitness room for those that like to get up and go! So...When you are looking for hotel accommodations or a place to hold your next meeting or event...Look no further. The Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge is the perfect place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn And Suites
Holiday Hotel Windsor
Holiday Inn Windsor
Windsor Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge Windsor, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing