We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Restaurant and Newly Renovated Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Windsor
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“New Restaurant and Newly Renovated Hotel”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

The hotel was always a great hotel but my recent stay I noticed that they did a major renovation on the rooms and they are fantastic. They also have a brand new restaurant. I did not even recognize it as the place is completely different. Fantastic dinner.

Best part is that their service has been and is still top notch. If staying in the area or travelling through, this is a must stop. Enjoy...I know I did.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertO724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Hi and Thank you for the feedback!
We appreciate the kind words! We are very excited about all of our renovations and what new changes are coming as well. Once again thank you for the kind words and we hope we see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    158
    49
    22
    18
See reviews for
88
51
14
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Barrie
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We arrived at the hotel after 3:00pm and were told that the room wasn't ready because they offered the previous guests a late checkout. I'd call that strike one. We had booked a King suite, and were told it would be on the seventh (top) floor. That sounded ok. She also asked us which 'team' we were with. We said we weren't with a team and would rather not be near one. We were then told that the teams were scattered over the whole hotel. Not good news for a family with two small children.

When we finally were allowed to check-in at about 3:50, the room we received was on the fifth floor, not the seventh. The ice machine on our floor didn't work, so we had to go up to the seventh to get ice. We discover up there that the corridor is renovated and has tasteful carpet etc. Not like the floor we are staying on...

None of the pop machines in the hotel were plugged in. We had to go to the donut shop next door to get a bottle of pop. And breakfast too. No continental breakfast, which in today's market doesn't get too many cheers.

This hotel has three elevators, but they are incredibly slow. There are no stairs right beside the elevators either. The stairs were at the ends of the corridors, and are 100% industrial. The stairs are precast concrete, rails are flat steel plate and lighting is a few exposed lightbulbs. Like you'd find in a factory, not an upscale hotel. Just plain dirty and creepy, but we used them to go down just about every time.

The room itself was not too bad, but I don't think it has been renovated. It had ugly yellow and white stripe wallpaper, and very hard furniture. The flat screen tv and King bed were quite nice and we had enough room for the four of us. The little kitchenette had a fridge, microwave and tiny sink and we made good use of it. The worst part of the room was the bathroom floor. The marble tile around the toilet was loose and broken. Someone could pinch their foot and this should be fixed right away. The other thing we didn't like was the amount of light leakage around the door. When you turn off the lights, the corridor lighting pours in all around the door like there should be weather stripping installed.

Even though there were boys hockey teams, and some girls sports teams too, the sound levels were not too bad. I would call this a stroke of good luck, because it only takes a few rowdy kids or drunk parents to ruin a hotel stay. I was dreading the nights, but we slept ok.

The pool here is nice, and kind of unique. It has washrooms right as you walk in which is a great safety feature for kids. I've been to hotels were you have to leave the pool area to use the washroom, and use your key to get back in. We only got one good chance to swim because of the crowds.

In conclusion, I give Holiday Inn the thumbs down for welcoming so many teams. There were dozens of hockey bags and sticks lying around in the lobby. Hockey sticks don't belong in a hotel, they are only good for damaging floors, walls and ceilings. Keep them in your minivan.
If this is one of the finest hotels in town, why can't teams stay at the Comfort Inn or something more affordable?

Room Tip: Maybe call the hotel directly and ask how many teams are booked in for your nights.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank al-the-pro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Hi and Thank you for the feedback!
First and foremost we would like to thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn & Suites Windsor as your accommodation partner while in Windsor. We pride our self on the service we deliver as well as the condition of our hotel. It appears that we might have slipped during your stay with us. Our renovations are still ongoing as we stride to provide the best hotel for our guest in the city. To date six floors have been completed including or main and lower lobbies. We hope that next time you visit Windsor you stay with us again so that we can show you what great service we provide and how proud of our hotel we are as well. Once again thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

This was our second stay at this Holiday Inn. Both times we had gone to Windsor to see a concert at the casino. The hotel if very nice. Great decor. Great front desk staff. Very nicely decorated rooms. We enjoyed everything about it. When we stayed last time, in July, the restaurant adjoined to the hotel was still under construction. This time is was finished and we were so glad to not have to leave the hotel for dinner or breakfast. We had dinner at their restaurant 'Grill 55' and it was excellent !!! The restaurant is awesome. Love the decor. the service was great. The food was great too !!! I had the seafood mix, I think it was called, it was salmon, scallops, shrimp with a 7 grain rice and veggie. Mmmmmmmmm sooo good. Would order it again. Breakfast was a bit pricey but was very good. Look forward to staying there again next time we are in Windsor :)

Room Tip: Face the front if you can. We faced the back parkinglot with industrial businesses etc. No big deal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Hi and thank you for the feedback!
We appreciate you taking your time and letting us know how we are doing!
We are very happy to hear that you had a great experience while staying and dinning at our property. We our self are very excited about Grill 55 and our future endeavours together. As for our rooms we are very excited to announce that three more floors have been renovated and we are expected to fully complete the renovations by this time next year. Once again thank you for the kind words and we hope to see you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

This Holiday Inn looked like it had recently undergone renovations. We stayed here overnight on the way to Toronto. It was easy to find (on the main thoroughfare out of Detroit), it was very clean, and the rooms were very comfortable. The staff were courteous and efficient at check-in and check-out, even though the hotel was packed with people visiting for a little league tournament. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CincyParrotthead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Hi and thank you for the feedback!
We appreciate you taking your time and letting us know how we are doing! We thoroughly enjoyed being the host hotel for the Canadian Golf Tour, and it we are very glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself during your stay with us. We have already addressed the issue of the signage and the parking entrance sign is now more visible from Malden Road. Once again thank you for the feedback and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stay at this location several times a year since our daughter attends University of Windsor. The Holiday Inn staff have always been so helpful in fulfilling our needs when we visit our daughter. The restaurant has recently undergone a change up and it has a wonderful menu. The recent renovations to the hotel have brought it up to the times. Close to everything, but not right downtown. The front desk staff is always cheerful. Pretty good value for your dollar.

Room Tip: the executive rooms give you extra space
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mezzopiano62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Hi and thank you for the feedback!
We appreciate you taking your time and letting us know how we are doing! Thank you for the kind words regarding our property. We are very pleased to hear that you have chosen our property for you accommodation needs while visiting your daughter at University of Windsor. Please let us know next time you visit if there is anything we can do to improve our service or if you have any comments or suggestions please ask to speak with a Manger on Duty, hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario
Level Contributor
294 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

On August 27, 2011 I stayed at the hotel with friends while attending the Canadian Golf Tour being held that weekend. I was very impressed with the atmoshere of the lobby. The room was very large with two beds and a big screen tv with a good selection of sports channels. The bathroom was also very large. The beds were very comfortable and each had a selection of soft or hard pillows. I had a great sleep as the rooms were very quiet. The hotel needs a better sign on where to find the entrance to the hotel. The room service could have been better as she made a quick tidy up while we were out for breakfast. No coffee, cups or glasses were replaced.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldenboy1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Stayed on 7th floor, all renovated. Some floors have very tired rooms. Restaurant looking beat up but new one opening soon. Ask for new room...then nothing much to complain about.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjgdb8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Hi and thank you for the feedback!
We appreciate you taking your time and letting us know how we are doing! We are excited to announce that our newly renovated restaurant Grill 55 will be open for business as of August 26th, 2011. Also the second phase of our guest room renovations will begin in September and in no time we will be fully renovated. We appreciate you choosing the Holiday Inn & Suites as you accommodation partner while in Windsor and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterfront Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Windsor
2.9 mi away
Caesars Windsor
Caesars Windsor
#1 of 35 in Windsor
6,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Windsor
Comfort Inn Windsor
#5 of 35 in Windsor
171 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Ambassador Bridge
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge
Address: 1855 Huron Church Rd, Windsor, Ontario N9C 2L6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Windsor
#3 Business Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge is excited to welcome you to our hotel! Our 214 room property is the only full service hotel in our neighborhood. Grill 55 is our onsite restaurant offering breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service for those that prefer to dine in the comfort of their guest room. Our well appointed hotel offers has a number of meeting rooms in various sizes totaling over 17,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. With over 225 complimentary parking spots, we've got room for everyone! We are also pleased to provide complimentary wireless internet throughout our entire hotel, a large fresh indoor saltwater pool and a functional fitness room for those that like to get up and go! So...When you are looking for hotel accommodations or a place to hold your next meeting or event...Look no further. The Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge is the perfect place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, IHG, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn And Suites
Holiday Hotel Windsor
Holiday Inn Windsor
Windsor Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge Windsor, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing