We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great romantic date place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cook's Shop Restaurant

The Cook's Shop Restaurant
683 Ouellette Avenue, Windsor, Ontario N9A 4J4, Canada
519-254-3377
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 739 Restaurants in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: Italian, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
141 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great romantic date place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

It's been many years since I've been here. I wasn't disappointed. This is a great, romantic place for a date night. It's on Oullette Ave., the main drag in Windsor, a few blocks from downtown. (Park behind the building and walk through a narrow space to the front door.) It's in the lower level of an old brownstone-style town house. The softly lighted grotto-like atmosphere just drips with romance, inviting intimate talk over wine. The air is full of garlic and wonderful aromas and whispered conversations. We hadn't made reservations but the waiter told us they'd have room in a while, so we wandered around and found a pub nearby to fill the time. (There isn't a bar to sit in the restaurant.) They serve a delicious hot garlic and parmesan bread. They are well known for their salad, served in a large stainless steel bowl, where you help yourselves to as much salad as you care to eat. The house salad is similar to a caesar, with large leves of romaine lettuce, but with a modified, sweeter dressing. Delicious. We had an appetizer and shared an entree. The food was OK, not great, way too heavy on the aromatics. The waiter made several blunders, then bought us more wine. So, by this time, who cares? We were in a great mood. Worth the trip south to Canada from the good ol' U.S., over the bridge or through the tunnel, for the evening. Or, perhaps you'll end up spending the night in Windsor. It's that romantic.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    50
    15
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food Snob Approved”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My significant other and I are avid cooks, so eating out for us must be an amazing experience the Cook's Shop offers it all, a romantic setting, wonderful staff, great wine list, and amazing food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodSnob2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“MOST Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We ate here 2x in the last month that we visited Windsor. The restaurant service was fabulous. The food was amazing, the ambience was perfect and will definitely eat here again and highly recommend to anyone that would like some fine Italian cuisine. Make reservations well in advance as this restaurant is very popular

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingfamily222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We love this place, it always smells so darn good!!! The food is outstanding, I recommend the lamb, but everything is really good. The salad, made at the table is fresh and generous, and the coffee is kept hot on a warmer on the table. A visit from the owner, who is always dressed like the perfect gentleman he is, is a welcome treat!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Great Food, Service and Atmosphere...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

If you enjoy good Italian food, attentive service, a warm atmosphere and friendly prices; then this is one place for you in Windsor. Be warned: portions are generous and you need to bring a big appetite! Four of us had salads, a variety of pastas and meats, coffee and desert. Wonderful!
One tip: parking is around the back, and the front entrance is at a lower level and hard to spot from the street.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JBLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cook's Shop Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Cook's Shop Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing