We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it!”

The Cook's Shop Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 769 Restaurants in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: Italian, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Windsor
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Great pasta! Great caesar salad! Only downfall is you smell like garlic when you leave there but definitely WORTH IT! Food is always fresh and decently priced. Always a great experience and can never wait till we go again.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Penny_H1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    67
    18
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food and Ambiance were both superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

This restaurant has been in business 30+ years, and it is easy to know why ... The food was delicious, the menu varied, and the ambiance was very nice. The soups and salad were great starters to our main meals; fish, pork loin chops and sea food and beef shish kabobs. And the house wines were delightful. The service was as good as the food; the staff were very friendly and knowledgable. Definitely a place I will return to, and recommend to friends and colleagues.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Incredible Again.....And Again!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Since my first review of The Cook Shop, we have been 3 more times. Each time we go, we appreciate it more and more. In other words.....we have visisted this restaurant 4 times, and have yet to complain about anything. I already have another reservation for the end of the month, for our anniversary. We have taken 3 different couples with us, and they all loved it as much as we did. The ambience lends itself to a great social evening for a couple or a get together with friends. There are very few restaurants where you can go and spend 3 hours drinking, dining, and socializing and feel like you could stay another hour. In our 4 visits, we have tried all sorts of great things on the menu. This last time, my wife had Rainbow Trout, and I had Steak Diane. Both incredible meals! At other restaurants, we never get any appetizers to begin, however the 4 times we have been to The Cook Shop, we always start with the Escargot and Mussels, and we have yet to be disappointed. We have had different waiters for each visit, and they are consistently good. I cannot say enough about The Cook Shop, it is our go to restaurant each time we are planning formal dining. Best Restaurant In Windsor!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Ambiance....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

What a fantastic litlle gem, true Italian dining. Food was amazing and service outstanding. It's practically impossible not to overindulge in the garlic bread! The spaghetti carbonara made fresh at our table was "to die for", melt in your mouth cheesecake and not to mention a great bottle of Pinot Noir... A great night, thank you to our friends for introducing us.. we don't live in the Windsor area, however this will become a "must" do when in town.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vacationner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Level Contributor
83 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Outstanding Restaurant that's hard to find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Seriously, this is one of those places that someone has to take you to for the first time or you'll never find it. We LOVE coming here as the food is excellent, the ambiance is outstanding and the service is superior. Don't let the reasonable prices fool you, you'll love it here too but MAKE RESERVATIONS EARLY!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cook's Shop Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Cook's Shop Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing