We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem of Windsor”

Marathon Ethiopian Restaurant
Ranked #109 of 781 Restaurants in Windsor
Cuisines: Ethiopian
Neighborhood: City Centre
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: City Centre
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden gem of Windsor”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is seriously the best restaurant in Windsor. Whenever we have company visiting we always take them to Marathon and they are always so impressed! Consistently delicious and fantastic service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank erharris6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    13
    2
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great meal, first experience with this cuisine”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My wife and I came to this restaurant on the recommendation of the front desk in one of the downtown hotels. It was our first experience with an Ethiopian restaurant and it was simply wonderful. We ordered a vegetable combination with servings of six different vegetables and a simple salad, along with a beef side dish. The other entree was a lamb entree. Both of the meat dishes were cubed and seasoned superbly. The lamb was moderately spicy and the beef was mildly spicy to our specifications. It was presented on a large platter that allowed both of us to share. It came with a soft bread. You used the bread to pick up the meat and veggies, there was no need for a fork which we only kept "in standby". The blend of the flavors was just a delight. Everything was reasonably priced and we each had a glass of very good south african wine to accompany the meal. The entire meal for both of us including tax was less than $50, a bargain for such a feast. We watched and all the meals were cooked to order, and every one looked delicious. If we are ever in the WIndsor/Detroit area again we will definitely be back. This one is a keeper.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cold Food And Horrible Curstomer Service”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My friend and I came to this restaurant for our first time and ordered some food that sounded appetizing. We got our meals and our food was lukewarm to cool.After trying to get our waiters attention for ten minutes the owner finally came to us. He said "What's your problem" and I politely told him our food was cold. The owner starts yelling at us and telling us we're wrong and says he'll microwave our food. We asked can we get fresh ones and he said "No, you guys can just leave!" Then he took our plates, stacked them on top of each other, and told us to go as if we had done something wrong. Other customers were watching as well.

I was shocked, especially considering this was the owner as well. Rude customer service, I never complain about food in a restaurant but i know this is no way to handle a simple situation.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dameon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor,ontario
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great atmosphere and clean with a large menu. I always order the meat and Vegetarian combo, very good and lots of assorted foods.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank denisenbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Favourite Place in Windsor — Attention Vegans!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband and I usually order the vegetarian platter for 2 on injera, which is VEGAN, and DELICIOUS, and very filling! It makes for awesome leftovers too if you can't finish the whole thing (I never can).

Never had a bad experience!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ValleyDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marathon Ethiopian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Marathon Ethiopian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing