We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of University Place

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Windsor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
University Place
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Windsor
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of months in summer time and it is an excellent place to stay. Its right by UWindsor, close to the riverfront and rooms are great, for students or for short stays. Excellent desk, bed, flat screen TV, AC, fridge in room and the staff is super helpful. Its quiet as well when you want to get some work done. Internet speed was perfectly fine, never had a problem. Laundry is on every floor and there is a shared kitchen on every floor as well. They have multiple types of rooms, from private to shared bathroom, that sorta thing. For short stay in Windsor for business, I'd probably go back here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank T E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
3
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

I stayed 4 nights in a single with shared bathroom for $39/night. This is the cheapest I could find in Windsor.

The place was convenient to local pubs and grocery stores on Sandwich St. The room was like any dorm-style room: had a bed, desk, heater, tv, mini-fridge, wifi access and not much else. You get access to the communal kitchen and laundry. The staff are mostly older students and keen to help.

It is basic but cheap and does the job. I noticed they have exceptional deals in Summer from $425/month. I wouldn't hesitate to take advantage of those if you are here for a while.

Room Tip: The cheapest rooms have shared bathroom. Ask if there is someone staying in the other room. They try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GerardT_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

I had read positive tripadvisor reviews about University Place before deciding to stay there. My experience was not as positive as others but I imagine there is a lot of variability depending on who is at the desk or the time of year that you stay. I stayed in December of 2011. Having stayed in university type residences I had a basic idea of what my experience may be like. However, I did not find the bathroom or the room to be that clean. For example, there was a long term build up of hair in the drain in the bathroom. The bedding was clean, thankfully. Staff were friendly and accommodating when I could find them. In the evening (5pm onward) there was no staff on the desk for two days. Upon check in, staff asked me to deposit 10 dollars for towels, however, when I left in the morning there was nobody on the desk so I did not get this money back. Also, I forgot the power cord for my computer in my room. I called several times (even spoke to the manager) leaving my name and the specifics but I did not hear back from the staff via phone or email regarding the lost power cord. I can deal with the residue of dust throughout the room or stray hairs on the floor as these are things you might expect in some university-type accommodations. What disappointed me was the lack of accountability and unavailability of staff. Although it was inexpensive to stay there the old truism of you get what you pay for works here.

Room Tip: Pay more for a better room or just pay more and get a place downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trevor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, Owner at University Place, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
It is with sincerest apologies that we address this guest. Our staff slipped on this room and stay: we accept that responsibility.
In the meantime, cleaning practices have been refined and some new staff have kept up with our high cleanliness standards.
Access to staff is a bit of a puzzle for this guest because we have a staff member living in the building at night and over holidays. Posted at the Front Desk there is an extension number to call from the lobby phone if a person is not physically present at the desk when needed. We are often in other places in the building cleaning, fixing or improving our place.
The cell phone charger was found and returned by insured Express Post. Perhaps it arrived after this review was written.
Never hesitate to speak to us directly regarding an opportunity for us to show improvement. That is the pride of a family business.
M.C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Québec
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

You can't beat the price! A clean, comfortable room with parking, laundry, dining and entertainment facilities, you really can't ask for more at the current rates. A seven-day stay averages out to about $35 a night. Owner Mike also makes sure that guests and student residents have a very safe environment with an excellent security system. The location was also perfect for the things I wanted to do - take in the riverfront, go to Detroit, shop and visit friends in the west end. I will definitely go back, since I'd rather use my spending money for seeing the sights.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizbethH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2009

I was running the Detroit Marathon and had a week to myself, and since there is a direct flight from my hometown of Duluth (DLH) to Detroit, I decided to make a vacation out of it. Going through customs was easy - and I did it four times (with the marathon expo and the actual marathon) - the Windsor Transit tunnel bus is the best way to get to and from Detroit. I was never confused about where to wait or when the bus would arrive.
I stayed at University Place (3140 Peter St). I'm interested in attending the University of Windsor anyway, so I was able to be near the campus and visit a few times to get a feel for the area. I really liked it - the diversity, the people, there were things to do, I felt safe, and I am definitely coming back. The marathon was wonderful (it starts in Detroit and weaves through Windsor and then back into Detroit) and we ran right past the area I was staying. Although I am used to newer, modern cities (I admit at first I was kind of unsure about the neighbourhood because it looked so old - I wasn't sure if it was a bad part of town or just the students area) I was comfortable walking around and doing the same things I do here in Duluth. I had a great stay at Univ. Place and am already planning on coming back to Windsor soon.

Helpful?
3 Thank FortFrances807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
Caesars Windsor
#1 of 34 in Windsor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Walkerville
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#7 of 34 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Place

Property: University Place
Address: 3140 Peter Street, Windsor, Ontario N9C 1H3, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor > Sandwich , Sandwich South
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located close to the University of Windsor and 10 minutes drive from the Casino, enlightened business travelers on a budget find University Place a refreshing alternative to overpriced hotels. Features: Clean, comfortable and quiet furnished rooms, 4 room and suite types to choose from, digital TV, fridge, phone with free voice mail and local calls, wireless internet throughout the building, cooking and TV lounge on each floor, laundry room on each floor, courtyard and gardens. Safe and secure: cameras in all public areas + card door access system. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
University Place Windsor, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing