We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ivy Rose Motor Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Windsor
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Wedding Time”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

The Ivy rose motor inn is a great place to stay in Windsor. And the food taste great and the price was right. We had little time to get ready for a wedding but we loved it and we will be back next year

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    19
    10
    4
    5
See reviews for
13
16
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I made a choice to stay here based on a friend's recommendation, supported by the comments here. Perhaps we were there in alternative universes.. that is the only conclusion I can make.

I arrived at 11:30 pm, was buzzed through the door and met by a very large dog on the other side. The proprietor came out of a back room, and was peeved that I was so late, but still checked me in, told me that the dog would only bite me if she decided that I was not a good person (the dog did not bite me). The room was $51, and I was told that was a "bargoon" based on other places in the area.

At the doorway of the room, the concrete was broken and a bit treacherous, the overhead lighting, very dim, the paint was peeling from the window frames, and the door itself.

I went into the room, it was musty and mouldy smelling. There was black mould on the paper towels stuffed under the window air conditioner to keep it from leaking. The furniture, carpet and bathroom have not been updated since the 60s. The bathroom, with it's quaint sea green fixtures had cracked tiles, a giant hairball in the middle of the floor, and dirt in the tub. The toilet was, however, sealed with one of those paper seals, in order to ensure that it was truly "sanitary". That part was amusing, given how dirty the rest of the bathroom was.

I turned on the a/c and it was so loud there was no possibility of sleeping through that, and as I turned around I noticed a large bug crawling up the wall.

And with that, I turned off the a/c, the lights, left the key on the table and went back into my car. I called the front desk to tell them I would not be staying. No one answered the phone, there is no voicemail. I tried calling again the next day, same response..as in, none.

I looked into nearby hotels, and got a room at the Windsor Casino for $89. I forfeited my $51, but I don't care.. there was no way that I could have spent another minute in such an awful place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NJM1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Windsor hotels

Kincardine
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed here about 4 years ago.
Stayed one night last week, and as usual the owners and staff were very welcoming. We felt like their guests - not just customers. Place is decorated as if it were the owners own home with cluttery sort of Victorian style bric-a-brac... but makes for a cosy home-y feel. Best value for a place to stay!! Comfy beds, clean rooms, quiet, and they give you a coupon for discount on breakfast. Have a pool too!
We'll be back again.

Room Tip: Higher room has a lot of stairs to be climbed and no elevator. But no over head noise. Blower dry an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in 2012 and really enjoyed it! The staff are wonderful, it is clean and the meals in the attached restaurant are first class! Good portions and great prices! Will definitely stay here again if we are in the area!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night travelling from Chicago to Toronto, and have to say that the lady on reception who checked me in was very friendly. The rooms were a bit dated, but pretty standard motel rooms and plenty of space and comfortable bed.
We got $2 each off breakfast at the attached diner and I thoroughly enjoyed my breakfast, plus the service was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ads102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombardy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My friend and I stayed at Ivy Rose while in Windsor the Skate Canada International Oct 24-29th, 2012. The rooms are basic but clean. We had a family room with 2 queen sized and two twin beds. There was an apartment sized frig, microwave and kettle but the kitchen was not supplied with any dishes, utensils etc. We were given coupons for $2.00 off breakfast at the restaurant. It was good food and the waitress staff were exceptional. They remembered our special needs. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Windsor treated me very well. There are other restaurants in the area, a Tim's across the road and you can see the Devonshire Mall from the Motel. It seemed our room was also used for storage as there were wooden tables and chairs stacked in our room but I didn't really care. The desk staff were very helpful. I would stay there again for a budget stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Region of Waterloo, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This was not our first stay here and other members of my extended family stay here regularly when visiting Windsor.
The rooms are clean and many show signs of recent upgrades.
At $65 a night it's really hard to beat.
As for the restaurant we usually do the buffet breakfast and I love it as it's nearly impossible to find corned beer hash anywhere!
My wife ordered off the menu and her eggs were done perfectly and the size of the meal was also a great value.

Room Tip: My brother had room 124 and it was fully remodeled including an awesome mattress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newbytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
Comfort Inn Windsor
#5 of 35 in Windsor
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor
Ramada Limited Windsor
#23 of 35 in Windsor
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Rose Motor Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Rose Motor Inn & Restaurant

Property: Ivy Rose Motor Inn & Restaurant
Address: 2885 Howard Ave, Windsor, Ontario N8X 3Y4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ivy Rose Motor Inn & Restaurant 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ivy Rose Motor Inn is a family owned and operated business. Our family, 'The Skally's, established the Ivy Rose with a small motel and we have since grown into a unique 91 room complex, offering our guests 'Something a little bit different.' The Ivy Rose Motor Inn is situated on five acres of beautifully landscaped grounds with ample free parking. Enjoy our outdoor, heated pool and putting green located in a private, secluded area. There are playground facilities for the children and three patios to relax on during the warmer months. There is a restaurant on site, which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Remember the Ivy Rose -- the coffee is always on, and the atmosphere is friendly. Your hosts, the Skallys ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ivy Rose Motor Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Rose Motor Inn & Restaurant Windsor, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing