We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view of the river”
Review of Papa Cheney's Whiskey Well - CLOSED

Papa Cheney's Whiskey Well
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Bar
Restaurant details
Fergus
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice view of the river”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Typical neighbourhood bar/grill. Lots to choose from on the menu. Ordered a B52 coffee- luke warm with no whip cream!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank mrsdolittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    4
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A MUST”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

the service is outstanding, bartenders are so friendly! and the food is really good! Not just typical "bar food". We always stop here on our weekends to Windsor!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank K-Buc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great food, service and ambiance”
Reviewed December 19, 2011

As a local, I love this place. They have great food specials during the week (wed is 2 for 1) and the service is very attentive and prompt. $2.50 mixed rye drinks is also nice. Love toonie Tuesdays as well. Location is great as well - a beautiful view of the Detroit skyline.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank wheresheroams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
“Waste of money!”
Reviewed November 24, 2011

I was visiting Windsor with some friends right before the Red Bull races and the hotel manager where we were staying recommended this place. I can't believe anyone would recommend this place! The food was not completely terrible but the staff were incredibly rude and very inattentive. There are several other pubs in this neighbourhood so I would suggest checking out one of them...

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udine, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Neighbourhood bar....”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

This seems to be your typical watering hole. Service was quick enough, staff was pleasant. The food is below average, quick made bar fare; enough to fill you up so you can continue drinking. Music was too loud to have a conversation. They could do a better job, but with their location I guess they feel they don't have to.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Marco-Friuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papa Cheney's Whiskey Well also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing