We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Lunch with Atmosphere!”
Review of Red Canoe Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Red Canoe Cafe
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Bancroft, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Lunch with Atmosphere!”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

My friend and I have stopped there a few times for lunch and at different times of year. We really enjoyed all of our meals there. The food is fresh and tasty and although there is a limited menu it is not a problem because everything is good! The patio deck is lovely in the summer and the main dining room is cozy in the fall and winter especially when the wood oven is fired up! Soups are unique and definitely homemade and the breads are fantastic. The cafe is now part of a coop that supplies local people with locally produced food. This is great for consumers and producers alike. We love the place and as we are ladies who do lunch this is one of our favourite places! Come out and try it for yourself!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chattymona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kawartha Lakes, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Pleasant Spot for Lunch”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stopped here today for lunch with my mother. It's quite a small place with a limited menu. Conversations carry quite easily from one table to another. I had the meat pie with salad. Meat pie was very good; salad was nice with what appeared to be a homemade dressing. Mom had the BLT on multi-grain bread; she said it was good but that the bacon was hard. Served salt & vinegar kettle chips which I thought was rather odd.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LastMango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Baking out of this world”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I've bought bread and scones from Rudy for a couple of years now. He makes them so fresh and so delicious using real ingredients, like butter. I finally stopped in for lunch one day and had an incredible grilled cheese sandwich with pumpkin soup. Unbelievably good! The ambiance of the wood oven and the local art on the walls makes for an enriching experience. Wilno is a community with heart and Rudy and his family belong there.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eppslr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Gem in the North”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

The fresh bread is amazing. Rudy is a true talent in the baking field. Lovely location. Stone baked pizza on Fridays. Delicious!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ehroco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quaint and relaxing”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We had lunch here---special of the day which was mushroom and leek quiche accompanied by a mixed green salad. There are several dressing options, but we asked the owner to surprise us and he made a dressing of sour cream, dijon and fresh chives which was delicious. The menu is small---just breakfast and lunch, but everything is freshly prepared and the bread is all baked on site in their brick oven. Gluten free bread is also available. Overall, it was a very pleasant experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Canoe Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing