We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Welcome Addition to the AGO Area”
Review of Provo FoodBar

Provo FoodBar
Ranked #392 of 9,771 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Reviewed March 21, 2018

The area around the AGO isn't exactly rife with dining options, especially if you are looking for non-pub fare or more than light pastry accompaniments to coffee.
The Provo Food Bar near McCaul and Dundas is a cozy, chic and welcoming alternative.
The staff are friendly, the menu is sufficiently varied to appeal to a fairly wide variety of tastes and hunger level. Prices are reasonable and the food is thoughtfully prepared and presented. Service is attentive without being annoying, and they are happy to split dishes if you are just looking for something to tide you over.
Definitely on the "return to" list

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RDG1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 71 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2018

There is so much I like about Provo. The menu is varied enough and the food is delicious. The restaurant feels spacious - there's lots of room around the tables and the music isn't so loud, so you can have a real conversation. It's right across from the Art Gallery of Ontario, and a great place to have a meal in conjunction with a visit to the AGO. On this occasion we had dinner, but i have gone there frequently for business lunches. All of my dinner companions have enjoyed their meals and the service has been relaxed, efficient and friendly.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 155019Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2018 via mobile

I had been here for brunch previously. As always happy that they accommodate my soy allergy. Food was good. I had the mushroom and artichoke crostini which was ok, not much artichoke. But the green salad was delicious and my eggplant parm was very good. My friend had the salmon which she said was good also. Lively place, good atmosphere. Our server was very busy, maybe even too busy. But it was a good meal and great location across from AGO.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank jackie075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2018 via mobile

Great cocktail and wine list, nice interior but very cold inside. Service was friendly. Food was decent but nothing special.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2017

I have enjoyed this location a couple of times. The food is good and the plate sizes are small which I prefer. can be a little noisy if you are there with someone who struggles with white noise.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Corinne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Provo FoodBar also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Provo FoodBar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing