We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick place for lunch - reasonably priced and consistent”
Review of Epikourioun Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Epikourioun Restaurant
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
Neighborhood: Downtown West
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown West
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
493 reviews
375 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Quick place for lunch - reasonably priced and consistent”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This restaurant has been around forever (I would hate to admit how many years I've been coming for lunch). It's consistent, reliable and you can get in and out for lunch quick. They have daily specials (lunch specials are 50 cents to $1 cheaper). The staff have been working here for many years.
There is enough variety in the menu to appease all - including Vegetarian options.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tasty food, quick service”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Generally, the food at Epikourioun is very good. I had the chicken souvlaki which was tender and flavourful. The service is always very speedy (perhaps a little to speedy at times) and a little growly. But you can overlook the grumpy service for the good food, reasonably priced. I would recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TorontoJaggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“I always order the moussaka”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Quick service. Reasonably priced. The bread is fabulous and the food is good. I eat here at least once a month.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AJM1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1,644 reviews
771 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 966 helpful votes
“Service with a snarl”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Epikourioun is blessed with a great location - second floor of the First Canadian complex at the east end of the food court. Unfortunately, apart from the location there is not much to recommend about the restaurant.

It starts with the service. I was greeted with a grunt by the maitre 'd and was eventually shown to an open table. Our waiter was not much better. He hovered around our table wanting to take our order even though we wished to linger a bit over our pre-lunch drink. I felt his main objective was to turn the table over as quickly as possible so they could squeeze more diners in. The waiter was not terribly helpful and seemed to be just going through the motions. In fact, all of the waiters appeared to have been working at the restaurant for some time and did not take much pleasure in their work.

The food was adequate. I had the moussaka and certainly have had better versions served at other restaurants in Toronto. The potatoes served with the dish were overly greasy and the moussaka itself didn't have much flavour.

There are so many better restaurants for lunch at the same price point. Do yourself a favour and skip this spot.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
246 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Good Greek in a hurry”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The only thing I ever order here is the spanikopita and salad plate. It's delicious, filling and reasonably priced.

The service is unobtrusive, fast and friendly. No wonder this place survives year after year in a pretty picky corner of the universe.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Epikourioun Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing