We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“can"t hear myself think” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chippy's Fish And Chips

Chippy's Fish And Chips
Ranked #4,650 of 8,404 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: Queen Street and West Queen West
Toronto,
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“can"t hear myself think”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Music blasting to a point where I couldn't hear the server. Perhaps this because they were rude and abrupt. Have not returned since.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank canada47Toronto_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    19
    12
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colden, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best Fish 'n Chips in Eons!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Business takes me to Toronto and the surrounds from time to time. I was on Queen Street West, across from a park, and decided to wander in.

I really liked the ambiance, if a fish and chips joint can have such a thing. It just seemed perfect.

Whoever had a horrible experience must have gone there on someone's off day. The service was superb and the eats sublime.

I had a combo with a piece of halibut, prawns, and scallops. The scallops were terrific, and I would definitely get them again. The fish was superb. And the dipping sauces! WOW! My favorite was, let me see if I got this right, "pemato"? (It was a combination of pepper and tomato.) And there were enough chips to feed more than this guy.

It is a great find in a cool area of town.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BfloBillW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“went for the halibut”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

the friendly wait staff, she was alone on a busy sunday lunch, was helpful and efficient. however, the fish was cut way too thin and was dry in the middle, as a consequence. the batter was also thin and went tough when it cooled. we like thick juicy fillets of white fish in a crispy batter. the chips were dry in the middle. maybe this is just sunday lunch? they were not frozen fries. yeah!! it is better than some of the greasy frozen junk one gets in some places. their heart is in the right place. however, they are cutting dangerous corners by slicing the fillets into paper thin pieces. too bad. nice atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank g b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Insulted & ripped off.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Well, I can officially say that the best fish & chips place remains to be Old York at Laird & Eglinton. Though Chippys got me in there by their famous traditional visuals from waaay back in the day, I was insulted by their prices, first of all. They charge a whopping $15 bux for ONE Halibut. & like one of the reviewers mentioned, (I'll read the rest of the reviews later), They up the price & decreased the damn portion. They made it flat so it looks like it was a big portion but it was barely 1/2 inch thin... (I'll give you a moment to gasp). Exactly! That's how I felt insulted by their audacity to charge so much & think we're stupid enough to believe we'll be back for more money in the can. Then I asked for tartar sauce... Oh wait! I have to buy the supposed tartar sauce! WoOoOoW. .95 cents for some tartar sauce. Excuse my ignorance but last time I checked tartar sauce is supposed to taste somewhat TART & INCLUDED!!! It was mayonnaise! Needless to say, I will make the trip to Laird next time. They don't charge you for the real tartar sauce. Lost my money here. I hope these guys read this & maybe they'll get their act together.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dizzivivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Authentic and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Visited this tiny little spot searching out some of Toronto's best fish & chips. Not disappointed at all, loved the take out option & quality was amazing. Not to be missed!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank londoner1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chippy's Fish And Chips also viewed

 

Been to Chippy's Fish And Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing