We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine dining with beer instead of wine”
Review of Beer Bistro

Beer Bistro
Ranked #25 of 8,469 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $31
Cuisines: Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Yonge St.
Transit: King Subway Station on the Yonge Line; King St. Street-Car service 24-hour Queen St. Street Car Service.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
259 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Fine dining with beer instead of wine”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

You can go to a lot of breweries with good food and a lot of Belgian restaurants with good beer, but this place was serious about both and therefore unique. It had an impressive beer menu and educated waitstaff. The beer prices varied but were generally fair and they offered size options at lower prices which was a great incentive to order more. We had a great waiter and front desk staff were also pleasant and professional. The menu was appealing but the food quality didn't quite measure up to the beer, with the exception of dessert. They have "beer scream" ice cream which was excellent and so was the "smores mug" chocolate mousse. The mussels and pizza were good but not great. I would go back and try some of their other menu items.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MN_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    299
    67
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Would return.”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Went to the Beer Bistro for the first time .We sat at the bar as we usually do. Although not completely full, the bartender had to serve the bar, the servers and a few tables around the bar. My opinion is, this is too much for one person to do and to give good service to all. Bartender was polite, smiling but could not keep up with the demand on his own. Uncertain where management was during this time period so they could have helped out. Despite this, the beer menu is extensive. We tried a few different beers during our visit and it was all quite good as was the food. We decided to return a second time on an early Sunday afternoon prior to leaving Toronto. The patio was quite busy and we again chose to sit at the bar.The bartender who I believe was either a manager or one of the owners was quite friendly; knowledgeable of the beer choices and of the menu, which was different than our first time there. I would definitely return and recommend to others.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juliedalyrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious, but very heavy food”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

They have an excellent selection of beer, and the waitress was friendly and knowledgeable. The food was delicious, but very heavy and rich. I would definitely recommend this restaurant for a light dinner and a good beer with friends.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JDEast11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great selection and friendly service”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We were staying at the King Edward Hotel accross the street and found the Beer Bistro through a staff recommendation. The place is very friendly and welcoming. They are used to visitors to Toronto but they are a "local" hangout. We met some nice folks on our many visits to the bar. We didn't eat anything but the beer was really good. They have beers that will suit any taste. Just don't ask for Bud Light like I did, they don't have any.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank violer66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Ontario
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Duck confit springrolls & begin wrapped jumbo shrimp... Yum!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We needed our food fast before a concert and they didn't disappoint. Decided on a couple of appetisers rather than a main course and they were delicious! The bacon was smoked to perfection and the spring rolls a delightful surprise with tangy cucumber on the side. Delicious!

This was my second visit and I'll be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yuhu32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beer Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Beer Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing