We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value-for-money Canto-chinese food”
Review of House of Gourmet

House of Gourmet
Ranked #1,103 of 8,519 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Value-for-money Canto-chinese food”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

As I came from Singapore, there's a natural craving for asian food, and house of gourmet provided a good meal to satisfy my craving :)

I had the wanton and bbq duck noodles. The portion is larger than that of what I would have gotten back at home, though the noodles are slightly more on the dry and rubber-y side. The delicious dumplings and roasted duck made up for the noodles :)

Would return to have another hearty meal in future :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kangsheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    57
    16
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“'Meh' food, okay service”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I went with my wife for dinner. The food here is just so-so. Service is fast, but the server has no patience and is definitely not polite. They have a large variety of dishes, spread across 2 menus, so I guess if you're looking for something specific this might be the place for you. I wouldn't go again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cielbleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Tried and True”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Review; House of Gourmet
Upon entering this traditional Hong Honk style Chinese restaurant one is served up a plethora of sights and sounds. The usual BBQ with its pork, sausages, and this time a huge squid, are all on display. The restaurant is busy and noisy with a multi cultural crowd. After I was seated, the staff gathered at another table for their meal, and they conversed with an energy that conveyed their enthusiasm for their own food.

The decor is decent and the washrooms are newer and clean enough. A unique feature of the place is the view into the side ally where the walls are painted with cool graffiti that tourists were photographing.

I ordered a simple combo #1 which was Beef and Greens Black Bean Sauce on Rice. It came with Won Ton Soup and a Spring Roll. The Spring Roll was fresh out of the fryer and crispy. The Won Ton Soup was basic and lacked the usual rice noodles; but that is expected for a simple combo.

The entre was tasty with tender melt in-your-mouth beef, and the greens were crunchy green peppers. The black bean sauce had an soy flavor to it, and not too much MSG, or none at all. And it all came with a pot of Tea. The House of Gourmet serves all kinds of dishes, such as seafood, and other entrées. It is a change of scenery and culture that fills out the whole dining experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Murray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Buzzing, fast service, delicious food”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Very good set menus at amazing prices. Authentic, if slightly rustic atmosphere, but that was the price paid for delicious food at bargain prices. Frequented by plenty of oriental people, at all times of day and night, so must be a good recommendation

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
435 reviews
310 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Authentic, but average”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We went here for dinner. Restaurant was packed with Chinese patrons. Waitress was very gruff with us and difficult to understand. We ordered the spring rolls, General Taos chicken, beef with ginger and onion, etc. service was good, but food was not memorable.....

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bocagrlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Gourmet also viewed

 

Been to House of Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing