We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chinese Diner Food- cheap and yummy”
Review of House of Gourmet

House of Gourmet
Ranked #1,103 of 8,519 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Chinatown
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
500 reviews
350 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Chinese Diner Food- cheap and yummy”
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Like a cliffhanger that leaves you panting for more, House Of Gourmet (someone might have forgotten to mention to them that their name isn't exactly grammatically complete...) made us vow to come back to try their other cheap and tasty dishes.

Rundown:
- Shrimp Dumplings in soup: I had them withhold the noodles; just wanted a big bowl of shrimp dumplings which were Amazing! Perfectly done...dumplings were not soggy or too soft or mushy. Huge chunks of shrimps. Soup was tasty. @$3.99, this dish is unbeatable

- Singapore-style Pan Fried Turnip Cake: I grew up eating this dish, so i have high expectations. They did it pretty well here...but not 100% authentic. The pieces of turnip cake were a lot bigger than what the dish normally would be (honestly, about 4-5x bigger than what it should be).
Most importantly, it's missing the crunch that usually gives this dish texture: Preserved radish (chai poh). Without the chai poh, the texture of this dish is pretty one-dimensional
It also doesn't have the slightly crispy glaze on the turnip cake...they should have left it a little longer in the wok
But don't get me wrong...everything else about the dish was pretty good taste-wise.
@ $5.50, the dish is pretty good. I'm not sure i'll order it again though, unless i'm really craving S'porean food

- HK Milk Tea. Wow. They really need to add condensed milk to this drink. It was too bitter and tasted a little medicinal?

Overall, a great and affordable meal... will be back to try other dishes; the menu is extensive!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jocelynlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    57
    16
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Wide variety on the menu, the dishes we had were good. Most of the clientele were asian. The tables were full on a Sunday at lunch, but people didn't have to wait long. Service was OK, but definitely suited to a quick, family friendly meal, nothing romantic.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen_1418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed ! You can find better place!”
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We have tried many Chinese restaurant around the world and we are a big fan of Chinese cuisine. We visited this place in evening. There are two many customers inside (Hong kong style), however when they bring us the plates, there was a big hair on top and I was surprised why they don't even pay attention to this. I asked to change the plate. The place was very crowded and thats why they forget to do their normal duties. I am sure thier kitchen is not clean too.
The second issue was about my fiance. Very soon she felt pain in her stomach that night and she had it for a while for next day. I also feel their food was not very healthy too. I really don't recommend the place. You can find better place if you visit Toronto and looking Chinese food.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frankiejones2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Busy but good”
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Filled with many Chinese diners so you know that's good. Very valuable. Even though it was slammed the servers were knowledgeable and made good suggestions.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank prnewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
142 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good value authentic Chinese food in downtown Chinatown”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Many of the better Chinese restaurants are not located in downtown Chinatown, this is an exception since its renovation and updated menu. I usually go to this place with couple of friends who are experts in Chinese/Cantonese cuisine and we all agreed this restaurant has proven to be a winner. We enjoyed the noodle dishes, set dinners were tasty and good value, and the place is clean for Chinatown standard. Noodle dishes starts at $3.99 to below $10. Main dishes start around $8 and set dinners (there are 3 or 4 different categories)start at $15 for two dishes. Overall this restaurant is good value and a hit.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seaguy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Gourmet also viewed

 

Been to House of Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing