We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh...”
Review of Harlem

Harlem
Ranked #1,028 of 8,574 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Inspired by the Harlem Renaissance of the 1920s, Harlem celebrates the joy of Toronto's cultural diversity and the art of entertaining. It is a rebirth of creativity in Food, Art, Music, and Cocktails. Harlem has crafted a menu that is full of flavour. The cuisine is a blend of Afro-American/Afro-Caribbean inspired dishes with a modern twist.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
589 reviews
376 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“Meh...”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was my third time at Harlem and I actually ordered something from the lunch/dinner menu this time vs. the breakfast. I got the jerk chicken sandwich with sweet potato fries. The sandwich was supposed to have plantains on it- which it did, but barely. It would have provided a nice sweet against the hot jerk chicken- which was also just alright. The sweet potato fries were just fries- what would have been nice is a special dipping sauce for them vs. just ketchup.

I will agree with folks about the service. It ain't quick especially considering I am the only one there sometimes!

That being said- I do enjoying sitting on their patio on a Saturday morning and just relaxing- I'm in no hurry. I would still return but continue eating off of the breakfast menu.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovedgreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    52
    24
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We went to Harlem in the beginning of June for a birthday party and everything was excellent. I would recommend this restaurant to those who want to try southern cooking.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jovan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“3 strikes: you're out”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We have tried Harlem (Richmond & Church) three times now. Each time the service was ridiculously SLOW. We won't return. The food is good - but too bit pricey for what you get.

We waited so long for someone to come and say hello to us, bring us menus that just as we were about to leave and go somewhere else, a waiter came over. We must have sat for 20 minutes without menus and without anyone acknowledging that we were there. Then after the meal we sat with our dirty plates for another 20-30 minutes before finally being able to ask for the bill. The waiter dropped off the machine but didn't ring in our bill for us. He walked away!?

They need to hire more staff. Hire people who can hustle. They're losing money as we would have had more than one drink but no one asked if we wanted another.

We won't return and won't recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandybeach70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and cocktails.”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We're staying at the Holiday Inn Express in downtown Toronto and this was an amazing find using the Toronto visitors app. A couple of minutes from the hotel with great food, lovely service and very reasonably priced too. Check out the cocktails as well, they're worth it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helly78Brit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
589 reviews
376 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“Chicken & Waffles...”
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

This is my second time here and the food did not disappoint! I went here for brunch and sat out on their patio which was nice. I ordered the chicken and waffles and it was huge! I needed a bigger plate it was so much food. This place has such a different menu- it's refreshing. I will continue to come back and try new things.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ilovedgreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harlem also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Harlem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing