We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressive all-around!”
Review of Ruby Watchco

Ruby Watchco
Ranked #270 of 8,576 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: East End
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very impressive all-around!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We weren't sure what to expect when we walked through the doors of Ruby Watchco, tucked away in Leslieville. Certainly, from the signage outside (very understated), it offered no clues. However, we had heard great things from friends and colleagues we trust, so last Friday night, we trotted off to give it a whirl. And we are so glad we did.
Ruby Watchco is situated in an old watch company building with a high tech/loft decor. The place was packed when we arrived for our appointed seating (there are designated seating times each evening) - and reservations are a MUST. The tables are nicely packed together. Close enough for a nice overall buzz.
Each week, there is a fixed menu. And if you're not daring, check out their website to find out what the menu of the evening you are planning to go is. We didn't but were beautifully surprised with a fantastic salmon dish. The menu has multiple course and each arrives as a 'shared' experience, home-style in large bowls to divvy up. My partner and I were thrilled with each dish. A delicious salad to start, lots of veggies, potatoes to die for, a mushroom dish that was amazing and our main course - salmon, prepared deliciously. Though barely room for the dessert, we managed to each every bite!
The wine list is terrific, too and we chose a lovely, buttery Chardonnay we hadn't tried before, following the excellent advise of our server.
And for the star-struck, the chef, Lynn Crawford stars in her two-time Gemini nominated Canadian Food Network show Pitchin' In. We had a little chat with her when she wandered over to our table, carrying a bowl of potatoes.
We can't say enough about this gold mine of a restaurant. We're glad we found it and we'll be back - often!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joanwOttawa_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    61
    32
    22
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Falls Windsor, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good wholesome food”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Went with family including a 3 year old and enjoyed the experience. The food was delicious and well presented. Despite being full the servers were on the job and kept things moving. The Buttermilk Chicken we had that night was awesome. One negative was the amount of food served for our party should have been more plentiful.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank darmstro56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just so-so”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

First of all, you don't get a choice. You're like a kid... eat what is put in front of you. The food was overall fine, but nothing wow'ed us. Lynn Crawford was working that night and really didn't smile much at guests and only cracked a smile when someone asked her to autograph one of her books. Would not go back again for the price.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SpaC509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect every time!!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I've had dinner in Ruby Watchco for over 20 times (I think). Every salad combination, main course, side dishes, cheese course and desserts are absolutely perfect! You can always choose the menu you like every Tuesday and plan your visit for the week. The Wednesday nights are chicken nights. Fridays seem to serve fish. I just love them all. If you are lucky you will be served by Chef Lynn Crawford. She's super friendly and loves to share the love of food with the customers. All the waiters and bartenders are excellent. I love the light fixture and interior design too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fresh, delicious, home style cooking”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

For me home style cooking has always had a negative connotation. No longer. The food here is excellent. Inviting atmosphere, lively ambiance, relaxed, just a great experience altogether.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 993TT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby Watchco also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Ruby Watchco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing