We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ice cream and portions”
Review of Ed's Real Scoop

Ed's Real Scoop
Ranked #1 of 187 Dessert in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Neighborhood: East End
Description: Best ice cream and gelato in Toronto in a variety of flavors. The wonderfully made natural ice cream is the perfect solution to a hot day.
England
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good ice cream and portions”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Wide range of ice cream and sorbets. Unusual flavours, and you can try before you buy (I had about 5 tastes, and they didn't complain!). Smallest size was good for kids and not-so-hungry adults. Little bench outside to watch the neighbourhood go by.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 99flake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    458
    128
    16
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best Gelato Ever - And good size scoops”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Having this place in my hood is a GEM. Though its always busy, means the ice cream and gelato is always amazing and fresh. LOVE the chocolate and raspberry gelato. The waffle cones are super good too

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank torontotraveler31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Burnt Marshmallow Ice Cream is to Die For !”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

They have unique flavours, and their ice cream is amazing. But my all-time favourite is their Burnt Marshmallow Ice Cream --- I'm salivating now thinking about it!

They don't have food there, just Ice Cream, Gelatto, sundaes, and everything to do with ice cream. Nothing fancy, just good ice cream. Pity they didn't create an ice-cream parlour like you see sometimes in the USA, if ever there was a place to put it, this is it.

If you come to the Beach, you must stop here and get some. They've put 2 major chain ice cream stores (B/R & B&J) out of business, so that's how good it is! Mmmmmmm

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mermaid_22222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best gelato ever!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We recently visited Toronto and went to Ed's on the advice of other Tripadvisor members. (Thank you!) We sampled 2 gelato flavors, banana and cantaloupe, intending to order one. Both were delicious so we had to get both flavors! It tasted like we were actually eating real fruit, much better than any other gelato we have ever eaten. Ed explained that he used a lot of fresh fruit to make the gelato. He was so nice and appreciative and he gave us suggestions for other areas to visit during our trip. It was a pleasure speaking to him. This was a highlight of our enjoyable day at the Beaches.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MickeyworldOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unique and exciting flavours”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

When visiting our friends in Toronto the other day, they suggested stopping at Ed's for a treat. We are very glad we did! They have a fantastic selection of gelato and ice cream flavours, making it very hard to choose just one. We tried the raspberry white chocolate, mint chip, burnt marshmallow, cookies and cream and stracciatella and they were all delicious. I like that they are not riddled with artificial colours as well. We look forward to going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChappyChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ed's Real Scoop also viewed

 

Been to Ed's Real Scoop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing