We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and fun”
Review of The Old Nick

The Old Nick
Ranked #5,034 of 8,574 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Pub, Gastropub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: East End
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly and fun”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Warm atmosphere, very friendly staff. We only had beer here before a show at the Danforth Theater, but food smelled awesome.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Erin, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“a relaxed hidden gem on Danforth for drinks”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We came upon The Old Nick while looking for a bar for a pre-dinner drink last week. The rainbow flag on the door was a good start! The bar staff were friendly and very efficient at managing a busy crowd of very diverse folks. I was pleasantly surprised to find the bill for 2 glasses of wine and a beer was less than what most downtown Toronto bars charge for one glass of wine these days! I will surely be back and next time hope to meet the owner Christina who apparently used to be a bartender before buying the place herself five years ago.....I have to hear more about that story! You go girl....great place!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beacontide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleblayney, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old Nick - Super Duper Everything”
Reviewed July 8, 2011

During our stay in Canada, we had not found the staff too friendly (or efficient), then we, upon a random recommendation, stumbled across this little gem for Sunday brunch. The staff were so lovely, food was gorgeous and the music playing took us back to what might be an American Diner in the 1950s. It was a delight, and so reasonable. We left full, happy, and glad to be so well taken care of by lovely staff! I don't usually write recommendations but this place was a gem amongst grey squirrels!!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dooziewoozie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Slappin' good spot. Darts, games... organic brunch.”
Reviewed February 5, 2008

Slappin' good spot. Darts, games... organic brunch.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“home sweet home!”
Reviewed January 14, 2008

home sweet home!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Nick also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to The Old Nick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing