We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”
Review of Relish Bar & Grill

Relish Bar & Grill
Ranked #1,398 of 8,641 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $25 - $101
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: East York
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Luckily we all decided to go during Nuit Blanche so we were able to get seats easily. Apparently on a regular night it's next to impossible. After trying the food one can see why. The food and service were impeccable. One of the best tapas experiences to date. We will most definitely be returning to Relish!!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yosephine6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    5
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Never disappoints, delicious food”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is one of our favourite Toronto restaurants. We tend to go on special occasions because the price is a bit high for our everyday budgets, though they are now open for lunch and have very affordable lunch specials. You have to understand the concept of a tapas restaurant -- you order lots of little plates, and they come out at staggered times as they are ready. You end up waiting between servings, but it encourages a leisurely dinner and conversation with your companions.

The food here is delicious and we've always found the staff friendly & attentive. Some of our favourite items are the gnocchi, wild mushroom risotto, chicken roulade, scallops (OMG!), roasted potatoes, eggplant fritters, sage crepe stuffed with butternut squash, chicken & chorizo soup.... I can only remember one time when we had any problem or complaint and it was fixed immediately.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katsongs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very dissatisfied”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I have just moved into the neighborhood and was told to check out relish. The decor was nice but the service was awful. Smug attitude from our server did not help the long wait times on between our dishes. The lobster potstickers tastes like they were out of a can and the gnocchi looked very similar to vomit. The food was cold as was the staff when they were not busy talking amongst themselves. When the bill came we were very surprised at how it expensive it was for a subpar meal with terrible service. As a resident of the area I am aware that there are not many options but even in a pinch I would not go back to relish. If you live close by spend 5 minutes and drive to leslieville which has better variety and restaurants worth what relish charges.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Susanstipes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fresh Take On Tapas”
Reviewed June 29, 2011

A surprisingly well put together restaurant east of Woodbine Ave along The Danforth. About a three minute walk from Woodbine Station on the subway system. Mostly frequented by locals of which I am one. Been several times, the "tapas", a variety of smaller dishes, only a few related to traditional tapas, make suiting your mood easy. Maybe 3 or 4 per person, sharing means more variety and you will quickly develop "must have" favourites. Good beers on tap, and a reasonable selection of wines by the glass that you don't find everywhere. Important to reserve Thurs, Fri & wknds, recently opened for lunch too, good place for a meeting lunch as the steady presentation of small plates allows for conversation. Staff will pace them out if you ask, and give advice as to order if you like. Always good music on the sound system, and a funky little area at the back for drinks and lounging. On the way home from a bad day at work, a dish or two and a couple of drinks at the bar can cleanse you of that bad day. Probably been here a dozen times and always enjoyed food and service.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gordonscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Find!”
Reviewed July 13, 2009

Have been twice in the past 6 months, and both times the service was excellent, and surpassed only by the food. Servers went out of their way to accommodate two special diets (one guest has Crohn's, the other Celiac for which there is a special gluten free menu). The mixologist is also top notch, and the wine list is large enough to have choice in several price ranges.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_and_Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Relish Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Relish Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing