We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mengrai Thai

Mengrai Thai
Ranked #282 of 8,440 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Best Thai food I've had to date. Service was impeccable. Dishes were creative and delicious. The owner was most helpful and attentive. I don't know what the guy on here is talking about, but he should learn to spell if he plans to have his reviews taken seriously. This place is a five star restaurant.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    27
    11
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very very rude owner but good service otherwise just dont complain”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

The place is a very cool location but the owner in particular Allan is very rude and when any changes are requested he makes you feel like you should not be there
Its almost like he does not want you in the restaurant.
They offer cooking classes and we started going hear a year ago and once the oplace became known its almost like the owner changed personalities and frankly makes you feel like a second class citizen. I woiuld not go back , there are many inviting Thai restaurants in Toronto happy to have you

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank adamfried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“A Thai resto to try, amongst the best meals I have ever had anywhere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

WOW! This is an incredible restaurant, and for many reasons: food, service, and atmosphere. Food first of all: my wife and I had the fixed price menu, which, for $37 was very generous and not at all outrageous price wise. Every course, every bite was intense, harmonious flavors on the palate and excellent execution all around. I won't describe each dish in detail, but my main course was the beef ribs, and they were fall off the bone gorgeous, intense, and as flavorful as I have ever tasted. Service was all smiles and attention throughout the evening, and the location is very intimate and romantic, with an historic feel you'd find in Europe or Tribeca. Bottom line, this place is as good or better than anything I have tried in the likes of NYC, San Fran, Chicago, and Toronto. Go there and eat, you will love everything about it....!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurizio_and_Jill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Serious Thai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

The veggie green curry will knock your socks off. In fact most of the dishes will.
The flavors won't disappoint and the menu you is brilliant.

As for the interior, it just confuses me. The layout is messy, and the linens date it to another era. Most food arrives in oddly shaped dishes/plates, the food is great enough on it's own, no need to dress it up.

Let's hope for a renovation soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not better than average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We tried take out at Mengrai Thai in mid-March. The shrimp triangle appetizers were ok but where was the shrimp? They were drenched in oil which covered the container. The supposedly favourite dish at the restaurant red curry chicken with pineapple and leeche was not bad but I have had more flavour full curries in a number of Toronto restaurants. The pad thai was dry and lacked flavour. The basil beef was also weak on flavour and the cashew nut chicken was flat. The restaurant touts the chef as being the most well know Thai chef in Canada but she must have had the day off as this was not close to the best Thai I have had in Toronto. I will not be visiting again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank my2cents4free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mengrai Thai also viewed

 

Been to Mengrai Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing