We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just ok”
Review of Ninki Sushi

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ninki Sushi
Ranked #4,772 of 8,469 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Downtown West
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

I have been there a few times with co-workers and friends since it is very close to where I work. You can get a decent bento box for around $16. They also have a good selection of ala carte. Food and service is not bad. Price is not cheap but reasonable enough considering it is downtown location. Would I recommend it? Sure. I don't think one will jump up and down with excitement but don't think you will be disappointed either. it is just ok.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank uask4it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    7
    10
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
766 reviews
474 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 590 helpful votes
“Everything was solid!”
Reviewed December 30, 2011

I have been to Ninki Sushi three times now and each time it has been solid. For the price, I think one would be hard pressed to find better value. I usually get the Chicken teriyaki bento box and the portions are sizable and I find that the food is perfectly seasoned, especially the tempura which is not too battered. The miso soup is not too salty. My boss enjoyed his sushi, especially the salmon. The service could be a little more on top of things, especially asking for refills on water or seconds on pop. That is a relatively minor infraction of the quality of the food in comparison to the price. If you need to have a quick business lunch at an affordable price, then Ninki Sushi will provide an ideal lunch stop.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tdsuperstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good quality sushi”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I visit Ninki on an average of once a week because the sushi is fresh and high quality. My only complaint is that the place is very noisy.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Roo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Service of one waiter ruined it...”
Reviewed November 8, 2011

This is a review of ninkis restaurant in the lower scotia plaza NOT the one on the street level of Adelaide (although owned by same).

Normally like this place because it's really quite on a Friday night with my family when the suit have all left in their BMWs to hit the martini bars.

Ninki has an "all you can eat" price. Recently I went back and had two unpleasant experiences.

1. I was not aware of an apparent rule that ALL in your party have to accept "all you can eat" if just one person chooses this option.

My daughter is 14 years old and she really wasn't feeling like all u can eat AND I had no option. And my 10yr old son had to accept the chil all you can eat. Child pricing.

Now a rule is a rule. Just let me know or make it very clear upfront, hopefully prior to being seated BUT what happened next was troubling.

2. The waiter, upon telling me the rule and my getting confused by the rule (as he said something to the effect of 'no sharing'), he got very testy that this was THEIR RULE! At this point I had not really made a single point (except to perhaps say i am not planning on sharing - ive been to buffets before PLEASE- didn't say the last part). BUT he clearly was looking for a fight. I couldn't believe this guy. I'm about to shell out over $60 between me and two kids and he's accosting me?! I think not. Guess what? I'm not going back! Sorry ninki, I wish you the best but I'm ninking out of their!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank S2TM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Tasteless and bland sushi”
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Unfortunately the sushi at this restaurant is incredibly bland and the rice is also ill-prepared. I was very disappointed!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wodaabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ninki Sushi also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Ninki Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing