We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Everything you would expect!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baton Rouge

Baton Rouge
Reserve with OpenTable
Baton Rouge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #303 of 7,938 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown West
Cross street: John Street
Transit: Subway St-Andrews Station
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Everything you would expect!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Called in early one evening. Place was nearly full but the service did not suffer. Great food and well cooked. I went for the ribs which were a little light on the meat compared to others I have had, but tasty just the same. Fantastic potato soup to start. The nearest member of staff served you so no designated "server" which I thought was much better, and must be much more efficient. Great teamwork. Price was good value and $20 cheaper than the similar restaurant I ate in the night before. Great job!

Helpful?
Thank Turbinetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    105
    60
    23
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very Tasty.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

I took my husband and our boys here after a Blue Jays game for dinner. The food was excellent and the service was good. Our dinner was ready quickly. There was a couple of mess ups on our orders ( surprised us because it was 4:30 and not busy ). They quickly fixed the problems. The food is expensive but we did not go away hungry. My husband got a free slice of Key Lime pie because it was his birthday which I thought was nice. Over all a great meal, good service and nice atmosphere. We went to the CN Tower after dinner. Baton Rouge is right next to the Rogers Center and the CN Tower so if you are looking for a good meal close by it might be the place for you.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HRGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Handy for pre-Rogers Centre events - that's about it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I have eaten at a few Bâton Rouge locations. I've never been blown away by the food, but never disappointed, either. Last time I had the ribs, which were good, but you don't get too many on your plate (for the money). I thought that would be too much for me this time, so I opted for the Bâton Rouge burger (minus tomato and their dijonnaise sauce), done medium-well. Good texture, a bit light on flavour - maybe that's why the dijonnaise is part of the dish. The bun held up all the way through. I think I expected an 8 oz. beef burger to be a bit larger. The fries were good - cooked through, crispy but not dry, lightly salted. I think I'd go elsewhere if I was paying, as the value seems fair at best.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DiggerM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Pass the Baton”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

It was very pleasant to sit outside but less pleasant to be opposite a speaker emitting over loud music. It took some while (after we had ordered) for the waiter to discover that potato soup, supposedly the signature soup, was not available so my partner had a overly dull Caesar salad before our main courses. The croutons could kindly be described as ordinary, the parmesan sparse. I think it might have been 'flavour-free' week at Baton Rouge. Greg's salmon and sweet potato fries were OK but my coated chicken breast lacked a lot. Cheddar and scallion could have added a zest they did not and an accompanying salsa was little more than slightly lumpy tomato sauce. Garlic mash leant towards the English rather than any French influence in our location as it too avoided any obvious garlic flavour. The dessert menu did not appeal but simple vanilla ice cream was brought willingly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John_Oram_Eats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Level Contributor
198 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Excellent choice before a BlueJays game”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Finding good food by the Rogers Centre can be a challenge. This Baton Rouge is virtually in the shadow of the ballpark, right on Front Street. The staff are super friendly and helpful. They know that most patrons are time-crunched and always manage to get you in and out when you are in a hurry. That has been my experience all three times I've visited this location.

The last time I was there I had the Amarillo Chicken. Very tasty.

I see other reviewers have had bad experiences with service. Not so for me so far, so I'll keep going back. As for prices, yes they are a bit on the high side compared to places like Kelsey's, Lone Star, Milestones, etc. But I think the food is better at Baton Rouge and the prices are matched with quality and service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LikethetripFantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baton Rouge also viewed

 

Been to Baton Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing