We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best places for Kebabs, Hands Down” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bamiyan Kabob

Bamiyan Kabob
Ranked #576 of 8,404 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Afghani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: East York
Grand Island, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best places for Kebabs, Hands Down”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Spectacular service, great prices and extremely tasty food, combined with a clean ambiance and smiling faces...what more could you ask for in a restaurant? On a recent visit to Toronto, my wife & I stopped by here to pick up food for us and take some home to the kids in NY. The place was packed on a Sunday evening and yet, we were in and out within 45 minutes! They were able to accommodate our request for placing all the meats, rice, salad and bread in separate containers, allowing easier transport over the border. When crossing the border, I specifically mentioned that I was bringing kebabs for dinner and the gentleman told me to have a nice day!
I make sure to visit this place every time I visit the greater Toronto area. They now have at least 6 different locations, including one at the airport.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ship_and_Shop_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    47
    5
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best Afghan food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

The meats are full of flavour and marinated to perfection. The basmati rice and naan are made fresh. The boulagnee is something everyone should try. Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank royvenier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
171 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great food at economic prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

The Bamiyan Kebab restaurant offers a fine choice of grilled chicken and beef. The portions are lavish if one orders a meal but for those who want a smaller portion a side portion is available on the menu without rice. I do recommend the rice as it tastes delicious and is easy to digest along with the other food.

All meals are served with a naan.

Well known as an Afghani restaurant, the place draws cosmopolitan diners.

The only drawbacks are the long lines for ordering food at peak eating times. The ambience at the restaurant could be improved.

If you have not been to Bamiyan do give it a try. It's highly unlikely you will regret this and for about $22 you can have two full meals with a choice of two grilled items, rice, naan and salad.

Munir Daya

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Munir D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Try the chaplee!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

I love this restaurant. It was recommended to me by some Afghani friends, and I'm so glad I tried it. The food is amazing! The chaplee is awesome, as is the boulagnee. I can't get enough of this place. It's cheap, fast food, that isn't greasy or makes you feel gross afterwards.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joeyjumjum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious fast Afghan food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Delicious no nonsense Afghan food. This place has many locations. The key to this place is consistency. They are consistently fantastic. Eat like a King. Staff quick, you'll be eating almost immediately on entry. keep up the good work.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamiyan Kabob also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Bamiyan Kabob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing