We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place where the Chinese will eat”
Review of Dumpling House

Dumpling House
Ranked #126 of 8,650 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Place where the Chinese will eat”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

It is an unassuming hole in the wall, but it satisfies the three conditions where the Chinese will eat: great tasting food, cheap price, and not too awful service/ambiance.

Went in late at night because there are lots of Chinese student-look-alikes eating inside, despite its cheap canteen decor. They were right. In addition to the dumplings, give the fried noodles a try. Good stuff!

Note though the taste is unmistakably Northern China (ie salty and not sweet, with some slight spices). This went very well with the hiring ad at the entrance (in Chinese) "hiring cooks with Northern chinese food experience".

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank accident_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    114
    31
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Average food, value for money.”
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Come on guys. These are not the best dumplings in Toronto. The dough needs to be as transparent as possible to bring out the flavours from what is inside. This is not the case here. I am not comparing with the best ones I've had in Shanghai, the rest of China or other cities around the world, but even Toronto has restaurants that provide dim sum of way better quality. What is true of this restaurant though is that it provides excellent value for money. You get to pay only $CA6 for 15 of the little gems; well, in this case faux gems.

As for my chicken noodle soup, I was served a huge portion of veg with tiny shreds of chicken in what seemed to be boiled water. I had to add a lot of soya sauce, white pepper and chilly sauce to make it palatable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lazulite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Best Dumplings in Toronto”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The dumplings are as good and authentic as they get, they rival China's best.
Service is super quick, and dumpling choices aside, the menu is huge.

I've had dumplings worldwide, and trust me, these are not to be missed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Made to Order Dumplings”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This little hole in the wall in the heart of Chinatown doesn't look like much from the sidewalk. You can see the cooks rolling the dough and making the dumplings from the front window. We ordered several #1 specials, 15 hand-made pork & chives dumplings to take back to the hotel to eat. You have to wait about 5-10 mins while they make them fresh. They smell so good, we ended up eating them all as we walked back to the hotel. Had to go back the next day to buy more of them. Don't let the outside appearance turn you away. This is a great little restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CruisinGal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Went here after the Jays game. It was a hole in the wall little place that serves great food. The dumplings were amazing. I wish I knew about this place our first day in Toronto. We got a to go box, planning on eating them in the hotel, but they were so tempting that we went to CN tower and finished them on the benches by the Rogers Centre.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank presidentnotsure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dumpling House also viewed

 

Been to Dumpling House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing