We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is Tapas!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kultura - CLOSED

Kultura
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: King. St. E. and Jarvis St.
Transit: King subway station or 504 king streetcar (streetcar stop is Jarvis St.)
Description: 3 Floors, 4 Rooms, 2 Lounge Bars, & seating for up to 200 people. 400 Person Capacity for Events and Corporate Parties. Kultura is a fashionable King Street East it-spot which previously housed the Wagner Rosenbaum Gallery. A stunning site to behold, Kultura boasts itself as a trendsetting, chic, upscale destination for social dining. Lovely tapas sized plates of distinct flavours take diners on an endlessly inventive and inspired world tour. The menu is diverse with cross cultural offerings that include anything from Italian to Asian-fusion cuisine. Amazing Food, Decor & Ambiance.... The Best Toronto has to offer...
Langley, BC
Level Contributor
148 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“This is Tapas!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Generally the food was very good but the menu was confusing. Nowhere does it say that it is a tapas format. Some of the dishes are too pricey to be called "tapas" ($26 for a duck confit that was one leg on a bed of beans and not appropriate for sharing.) A bowl of butternut squash soup (which was not on the menu but was available when I asked about a soup starter), was huge, piping hot, under-salted and lacked flavour. I was also told that there was "no bread". They don't serve bread with their soup. You can order one of their naan dishes as bread but that was about $9. The scallops my husband ordered came as 3 grilled scallops with no accompaniment. Tapas. The "chocolate sticky toffee pudding" was not "sticky toffee pudding" at all. I know because I spent 2 weeks in 2008 going around Scotland and England sampling all the sticky toffee pudding I could get my hands on. This was just a chocolate cake with a bit of sauce and a scoop of ice-cream. Wine list was adequate. Service average to inattentive. Definitely not a home run here.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ladydocBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    20
    16
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Good food, nice cozy atmosphere but”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

This place was recommended to me by a co-worker and I took my husband there for dinner. Liked the food, hated the portions to a point where we had to double up on the appetizers which were super small so you can imagine the bill. The waitress worked away with our receipt and when I called back to get a copy, I was told to email in a request and 10 days later, no word from Kultura. It is an OK spot but I work too hard for my money to walk back in there... Hope the fix the noise with the front door

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Huh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good food, but small portions, slow service and incredibly overpriced.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

The restaurant is a very nice place, and the food tastes very good and is nicely presented. But the portions are very small, the food was served in a really bizzare order (some people who ordered baked goods received them almost immediately while others who ordered salads had to wait considerably longer; looks like the kitchen is not very organized). Prices are also extremely high and are not justified.
It's just a high end restaurant where you pay for the ambience and chic factor instead of the food. Don't go if you're just looking for a decent meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidCatriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it. Amazing place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We were so impressed with Kultura. Gorgeous space, especially the back room on the second floor. Great service and incredible food. We have been told by so many friends that it is one of the best places out there. It sure is. If you go in and have the regular menu and you will absolutely LOVE it. Try the Lamb and Beef Cheeks, they melt off the bone. The Mushroom Orechetti and Tacos were to die for. For desert do the creme brulee or donuts. This place well deserves 5 stars. We will be back very soon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and ambience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

My colleague and I went there to have a business meeting - that was my first time here. I don't know how I missed it before. Really enjoyed the food (try palak paneer naan and marrow, end it with pumpkin cheese cake!) and the service was excellent! See you soon Kultura!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ArtLover5777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kultura also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing