We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Alternative to Pho 88”

Bun Saigon Restaurant
Ranked #3,290 of 8,650 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $0 - $5
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Cruising on a sailboat in FL Keys
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good Alternative to Pho 88”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We wantedho and our usual hsunt has been closed and will be converted to condos. The Bun Saigon is only one block further south on Spadina so we went in. The service was pretty typical in that a pile of chopsticks and spoons landed on the table along with a couple of telephone book sized menus and an order sheet.

We ordered our usual Pho with beef, tripe and tendon plus an order of spring rolls. Everything was very flavourful and served hot. We liked it better than the Pho 88! Bun Saigon is our new go to for Pho on Spadina.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DocFraud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Please dont come back here”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I ate here before, it was not as good as other restaurant in Chinatown. The thing is I recognize those 3 bean drink desert, they bought it from the place call Cali down the road and resell it for 3$/order, the Cali place is like 5$ for 3 and they have way more better stuff. Extra egg is like 1.5$ holy jesus, one fried egg is 1.5$ are you kidding me. There a lot more about this place I dont like. One time I walk out from washroom and overheard the boss and the waiter talking about another customer (I understand because I'm Vietnamese also). So better watch out, dont talk to much to them, they are faking "friendly" with you and talk behind your back. I'm not kidding man, not gonna come back here again, Pho Xe Lua next door is way better. Goodluck guys

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
1 review
“Will be back”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

After a long walking day around the downtown, stop by Bun Saigon for dinner. Food was very good. Whole family was very enjoy. Owner and staff were very friendly!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tricon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We Loved it!”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

great food and great value - we had a dinner for two that was more than enough food and everything was fantastic. Hot and fresh, good quantity and very affordable!!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ServiceNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We ordered noodle soup with beef. Also ordered fresh and fried spring rolls. Noodles were the regular vietnamese stuff. Rolls are big and the fresh ones were good. The fried spring rolls were not good. Seems to be lacking some ingredient or ingredients not freshly made.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fishlover22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bun Saigon Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bun Saigon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing