We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sushi ... To go!”
Review of Japango

Japango
Ranked #503 of 8,509 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $17
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great sushi ... To go!”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

delicious but consider take out- there are only a few crammed tables that dont offer much in the way of ambience

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reviewkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    50
    19
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

I had been to Japango many times before, always enjoyed it. I don't know if there are new owners, but something has changed. I ordered a sashimi don and hamachi sashimi (I was hungry) ...

The salad arrived, the lettuce was rusty and some greens were well beyond their serve-by date. If these were greens in my 'fridge, they would have been tossed. The sashimi don was, as always very fresh and the gochuchang, truly divine. They brought me nigiri sushi when I had asked for sashimi, which I pointed out so that was an issue. Not once did they refill my tea. It was busy but there were servers who did not seem to be using their time effectively. VERY disappointed today. What has happened to you, Japango?? The Adjuma was friendly as always when I paid but I should have said something re: the experience today. For the important stuff, i.e. the quality of the fish - they are bang on. The best in TO. For the peripherals ... not too sure.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome FRESH Sushi”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Was staying at the Metropolitan Hotel and had Japango recommend by my sister-in-law. It's a two minute walk so decided to headover and grab some takeout. Had the standard (Tuna, Salmon, BBQ Eel) sushi along with a couple of their rolls. The sushi was incredibly fresh tasting. Normally I'm not a fan of sushi rolls, I find the almost always present guacamole and creamy dressing too over whelming a taste. The rolls we ordered suffered neither of these issues and were if not the best certainly in the top 3 sushi rolls I've ever had. Reasonably priced with quick service I'd definitely recommend Japango. It should be noted that the restaurant is tiny at best, there's very little seating so plan on waiting or order ahead for takeout.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MagellansStomach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Must try their house roll (Japango Roll)”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

I love this little tiny Japanese restauarant tucked away in DT Toronto. The only complain is that it's small. Reservation is a must. Don't expect to seat comfortably. But the food is worth it. Their recommended specials is always a hit! Sashimi always FRESH! One of my personal favourite is actually their house roll - Japango Roll. I normally am too full to order any hot items. Sushi/ Sashimi/ appetizers all the way.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank RC00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Best sushi in the downtown University/Dundas area”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Be sure to make a reservation. You may not get a seat if you get here a few minutes after 12:00 for lunch, and Fridays are especially busy. It seats less than 20 in the tiny restaurant. It is very cramped.

The sushi is well made and the price is reasonable. I love their spicy scallop roll and white butter fish sashimi. Everything I have tried is very good, including the cooked foods like tempura and noodles. It is the best sushi in the area.

Service is good but due to its small size, the servers rush you out after you're done eating so this is not a leisurely place to lunch and therefore not a good place to bring clients for business talks. Japango is more for the die-hard sushi lovers who eat and run.

I highly recommend this place.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalani_in_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Japango also viewed

 

Been to Japango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing