We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eggs anyway you want them”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Over Easy

Over Easy
Ranked #302 of 8,432 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Midtown
Biddulph, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Eggs anyway you want them”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

This restaurant was just next door to our hotel and was a convenient place for breakfast. I had scrambled eggs with bacon, sausage and home fries which was very good and completely filling. My partner had porridge followed by scrambled eggs which she enjoyed. Service was good with extra coffee being offered regularly.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank andym1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    105
    45
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Solid, family-type breakfast/lunch place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

If you want a place that's serious about breakfast, this is the place for you. Fresh orange juice, crisp bacon that's not greasy, half a dozen of varieties of Eggs Benedict (I had the Eggs Bruschetta: poached eggs over bruschetta: Eggs Benedict without the hollandaise); good coffee (decat, cappucino, etc.). Breakfast for two all under $40.

It was our last day in Toronto, or we'd go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank so-sojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Food at Moderate Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

My most recent visit to Over Easy, on Bloor, was a Sunday lunch where I met 2 friends before going on to an afternoon event. We hadn't seen each other for awhile & wanted a place to have some good food & good conversation, without breaking the bank.The portions are large, with fresh tasting ingredients Once you are at the table, your server is there almost immediately with coffee.

The restaurant specializes in American-style breakfast/lunch food e.g. sandwiches, soups salads, a whole page of egg dishes, fresh juice, etc. The menu has a big variety & I doubt there would be anyone who couldn't find something they liked. You can check the menu on-line from your hotel room or wherever you are staying.

This restaurant is always busy; because it is relatively small & only open for the breakfast & lunch crowd......plus, it is the only place within a short walk of the Museum, 3 hotels & the subway that has good food at a moderate price. So if you're in a hurry, I suggest you continue walking west, to the end of the block (Bedford Rd) where you will find Tim Horton's & Starbucks; or a few doors away, Macdonald's.

Otherwise, your only other options are the hotel restaurants, Yorkville & the hotdog street vendors.

My suggestion is try to plan your visit slightly before or after the breakfast/lunch crowd if you worried about your time.

A nice plus, is the small outdoor eating section. It's right on the street; but what better place to people-watch on Bloor St. while having your coffee.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The Big Salad is very tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

While staying at the Intercontinental Hotel on Bloor St W, I wanted to get a quick inexpensive lunch. It was a bitterly cold day in Toronto and I ran into Over Easy.
Service was friendly and good. They have a very extensive menu. The breakfasts looked very good.
I chose a chicken salad. The Big Salad I think it was called. It came with chicken which was hot and freshly cooked. Variety of lettuces delicious with chunks of fresh avocado and spring onions. Their coffee wasn't wonderful but I would highly recommend this place for its food. An inexpensive eatery in the pricey shopping area of Yorkville.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cabsauve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
192 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Good Food, No Surprises!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We arrived one hour before the ROM opened and decided to find a place for breakfast. On entering the restaurant we were seated almost immediately, received the menus, ordered coffee and glasses of water right away. My daughter ordered French Toast, with real maple syrup, side order of home fries, and bacon. We both had a large glass of orange juice. I had two eggs over easy, with bacon, and home fries. I added a side order of Bacon. Everything we ordered came in a very good time, The server was friendly, and returned to check on us regularly to see if there was anything else we needed. The place was packed! All of the food we ordered was very good! The coffee is alright, but a better brand of coffee would put this place over the top!! I found the cleanliness of this restaurant, and the washrooms to be in very good condition! I will return when I visit Toronto in the future!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank citypins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Over Easy also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Over Easy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing