We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Big Surprise”
Review of China Cottage

China Cottage
Ranked #1,040 of 8,469 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Scarborough
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Big Surprise”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I was surprise at the excellent taste at this restaurant. The Mumbai beef is the best. The shrimp fried rice is also good a little different then Chinese fries rice. I also had mango salad which was pretty good but could use more fish oil or seasoning but it wasn't cheapened out with sprouts. The total for the 3 of us was only $25 plus tip.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    14
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Hakka food ever!”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

You must try the pakoras! Our family loves this restaurant and we live nearby so we eat here often. It's a great meal with great value. Staff are attentive and kind. We will definitely be back! Awesome!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SeaofCyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Excellent Hakka Chinese food with spicy twist. Loved the soup. Went with two families with four kids and the bill was still within the budget. Unfrtunately turned out to be a bad experience as our car was hit in the parking and badly damaged our Acura MDX. Nobody left a note or any other information. What else you can expect in a big city like Toronto!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazib R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“My favourite GTA Hakka, hands down.”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I was brought here by a friend from very far away. He claimed that when looking for delicious Hakka cuisine, China Cottage was the place to go. My eyes were opened and I can't eat Chinese Food anymore. Hakka has the blend of Indian and Chinese I'd been waiting for all my life. Of all the different Hakka restaurants I've visited since, this is the one I continue to return to.

China Cottage is located in a non-descript little plaza in the Warden/Ellesmere area, and the plaza is busy. The restaurant is busy. It's always a small trial to find parking, but it's worth it.

The portions are huge and easily sharable. What we've done in the past is order everything Cantonese style, then Manchurian style, then Szechuan style. They have plenty of options, and more than enough to satisfy any adventurous vegetarians.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hakka Fish!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Delicious halal food. Good service! The Hakka fish is so good, I wanted to weep with joy!

Great value! Generous portion sizes!

A favourite place to go back to again and again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Faizazarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Cottage also viewed

 

Been to China Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing