We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun fun fun”
Review of Coquine Restaurant

Coquine Restaurant
Ranked #288 of 8,569 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Manor Road
Transit: Exit the Yonge and Eglinton TTC station through the south exit, we are a short walk south, just past the Art Shoppe on the North, East corner of Yonge and Manor Road.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fun fun fun”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I am a regular at Coquine and have been since they first opened nearly six years ago. I go there twice a week and always have a great time. the food is good, but what really sets it apart is the atmosphere, the outstanding service, and the very nice crowd one always finds there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank masinger_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    67
    18
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Okay.”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Gorgeous location and interior. However, the food and service are nothing exceptional. Not recommended.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_love988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoquineToronto, Manager at Coquine Restaurant, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hi,

I am sorry to hear that you didn't have a great experience at Coquine. Please reach out to me at dine@coquinerestaurant.com or 416-322-6767 and I would be happy to get your feedback.

Best Regards,

Luke Madigan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Reliable, enjoyable French bistro in Toronto”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Having enjoyed Parisian cafes, we often hope to find a reasonably equivalent experience near our home in Toronto. Coquine has proven to be among the best bistros we have seen in the New World. The setting is classic Parisian with a lovely interior and particularly pleasant covered patio. The menu is diverse, filled with salads, crepes, quiches, steak/moules avec frites, a very good croque monsieur (and madame), chicken and mashed and various other dishes that resembled a carte in Paris. Wine is relatively reasonably priced and service is quite good. Yonge Street is hardly a Grand Boulevard and the lingua franca is anglais here, but after a meal at Coquine we feel once again that we will always have Paris. They have recently opened a smaller menu cafe (Coquine Express) next door and we have heard its quiches are to do for.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Canadian67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Moules Frites...yum”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We've been here many times. Always enjoy it. It's become one of our favourite places to hang out and enjoy great food and drinks! The staff are always very friendly and welcoming. Sunday night jazz is good too!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
639 reviews
436 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Good bistro choice but Price Point may discourage return visits”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We have eaten here thrice in three years and enjoyed the great service and good food. Our fave times are the less-crowded 'shoulder' hours (i.e. late lunch). The decor and vibe here are especially nice. The single concern for us remains the prices. They seem to verge on too high for what you get serving-size. Yes, this is a high-rent area but there are other French eateries in the city. I am done. The end.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zebecToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coquine Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Coquine Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing