We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a date!”
Review of Marben Restaurant

Marben Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Marben Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #339 of 8,650 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $75
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown West
Cross street: Portland
Transit: Closest transit stops are King and Spadina and King and Portland by TTC on either the King or Spadina Streetcars. A late evening taxi stand is immediately east of Marben.
Description: Marben is a bustling, downtown Toronto restaurant, renowned for its warm hospitality and seasonally driven, Canadian cuisine. Marben is a gathering place, a local spot where friends and family come to catch up over good food, drinks and music. Marben is your home away from home.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Great place for a date!”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

I have gone past Marben a few hundred times over the past few years and never really realized what would be behind the doors of this place.

The ambiance is awesome and the service is top-notch. I met my wife here for an after-work drink this week and can't wait to go back.

We shared oysters, charcuterie, and a cheese plate over a few glasses of wine. Every item was delectable and a sure repeat on a future visit.

The vibe was almost like being at a local favourite and an up and coming hotspot at the same time.

I'm looking forward to patio season!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Khrynisx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    59
    17
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“marvellous experience”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

i wasn't sure what to expect, but my son, in the hospitality industry, said we would like it. it's not cheap, but was well worth the price. the menu varies depending on availability of ingredients all from local (to southern ontario) farms, but nothing disappointed. their approach is to share your order, so the 3 of us ordered 3 different items from each section of the menu and all were EXCELLENT. HOWEVER, irrespective of the price, if the service is indifferent, the meal just cannot measure up. SERVICE IS EXEPTIONAL.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank j0ckser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto ,Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Good food & atmosphere”
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Marben is best described as a modern bistro with a focus on local produce, meats & fish. I had a very good meal here with a friend recently and have been on two other occaisions.. The standout items on the menu include the Berkshire pork chop, the house made charcuterie plate which is delicious and the PEI oysters. Less successful was the beef roast which was just so so, the swiss chard (too oily) and the french fries (so so). The winelist is interesting with lots of local options and is moderately priced overall. I would return as the food options and good pricing make for a fun evening. Recommended.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank multilingual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Food Done Right!”
Reviewed November 24, 2011

The food is for the most part, simple food done to perfection, nothing pretensious, just great food. With the exception of the burger which is over the top. Far surpasses the orginal from DB in NYC. Chef Carl Heinrich is the best new chef Toronto has seen for a long time. His style, creativity and strive for obtaining the best flavours out of everything his kitchen prepares is quite evident. We are now regulars there, going out of way to go there!!!! Thank goodness for Marben.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lambmelamed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Well Prepared Food in a Lovely Space”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Having read all the good things about Maben, we decided to give it a try. It is a very popular spot. The decor is very woodsy and contemporary with a funky touch. Since we were a party of 7 we were seated downstairs which was lovely, but because of the low ceiling the acoustics were bad. It was very loud, to the point where we had to shout to be heard. I think upstairs may have been better.
The service was a bit spotty - we had to wait a while before our drink order was taken and the desserts took a long time.
The food was excellent. It was not fancy, but the ingredients were fresh and everything was prepared perfectly. I had the blackened whitefish which was very tender and moist. The burgers were amazing. But here is my beef. The trend in Toronto seems to be to take regular dishes and serve them "to be shared". Three people at the table ordered burgers. To our surprise, they came stacked on a plate cut into quarters! We had not been warned that the dishes were for sharing and the waiter carefully took everyone's order individually. I had ordered the fish. it was one smallish piece, perfect for one person. How are 7 people supposed to share that? The fries and the sides were fine for sharing, but the mains didn't really lend themselves to that. I suspect that this is easier for the kitchen; fine, but then make dishes that make sense to be shared. Or the charcuterie platter - delicious, but a joke for 7 people sharing. Having said all that, I still want to stress that the food was very, very, good and I will definitely be back, maybe on a quieter night or when I can sit out on the patio. One other gripe; the wines were quite expensive.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GeminiDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marben Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Marben Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing