We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Taste”

Johnny's Hamburgers
Ranked #977 of 8,440 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast Food, Canadian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Parking Available, Takeout
Neighborhood: Scarborough
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First Taste”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Johnny's Hamburger is probably the closest one I've been too. Located on Sheppard & Victoria Park this hangout is always full of customers either walk-in, drive-in, or take outs. The Burgers are juicy & never dry

Helpful?
1 Thank Kerstin789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    38
    12
    13
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Been Around for Years”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

They are still serving the frozen pre-made hamburger paddys that I remember from 20 years ago. Other hamburger joints have upgraded with a broader range of offerings and Johnny's has fallen behing. Will not return any time soon.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
153 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great classic burger”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Really Classic burger! Like most ppl say, nothing really special but great value! Huge burger for 3.05 or cheeseburger for 3.5. The onionring was really good too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Musumekiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

I don't see what all the hype is about.
I don't like the burgers. I agree that they are spongy and would compare them to meatloaf. Tried the sandwhiches, a big fat bun with very little inside. I keep hearing people talk up this place. I can't see why. Very regular, run of the mill burger joint with average food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rocket1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ONTARIO
Level Contributor
100 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Wannabe harvee's. Nothing special.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Tried this burger joint becuase a family member of mine that lives in toronto said its the best place for burgers. What a dissapointment. If you like Harvee's type burgers then these come close. Burger patties are spongy with fillers. Almost like eating meat loaf. I ordered a burger with fries and gravy. The fries are ordinary fair as well as the gravy. Overall the meal was decent but nothing to go home screaming about. The place was dead when we showed up. Apparently this burger place has lines. I didn't see them. The price was right. But you get what you pay for. Let's be honest. I wouldn't go back.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank CNDTRVLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny's Hamburgers also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Johnny's Hamburgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing